My first meeting with the guards of the monks in Tibet.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 Hello! My good friend bought 4 lovely puppies of Tibetian mastiff and I've been thinking of making photos of the puppies to show to my new friends in steemit. At the weekend I took my camera and went  to see my friend Victor. 

 So, welcome the four Tibetian mastiff puppies. No matter how big they look, they are 7 months old puppies. And now to their names - red ones are Dzanik and Jimmy and the black ones are Bonua and Lesua. 

 I'll tell you a little bit about Tibetan mastiff. It's the oldest and a very rare breed that was used for security in monasteries of Tibet. The breed is still pure because of the geographical isolation of the country of Tibet where the breed originates from. That is why those beautiful, strong, clever, fearless huge dogs were able to keep memories of whole centuries in their blood. Tibetan mastiff is mentioned in the Chinese book Shu-king in 1122 B.C. for the first time.  In ancient times this breed was always surrounded by legends and myths. The dogs are also mentioned in the works of Aristotle and Greek philosopher Gosphen, who was writing about a dog with big head. 

image credit

 In 1720 a famous and well-known traveller Marco Polo arrived in Tibet. He was impressed by those dogs, he wrote that they were huge angry dogs with lion's roar. As he said, they used dogs in guarding villages and while hunting oxen and tigers and Marco Polo was astonished at how strong their body and spirit was. One of the first owners of this dog in Europe was Queen Victoria in 1847.
 

 Now this breed is characterized as calm and reserved, being able to live in a family and guard the house. One of the main traits is independence, even from the owner. Tibetan mastiff is a very smart dog. But without strict discipline and regular training it might become unpredictable and dangerous. It's not recommended to get a Tibetan mastiff if you don't have a lot of experience with dogs. 

 I'll tell you more about my feelings. My friend Victor invited me to go in the aviary, where the dogs were, to get to know them better, saying that they are only puppies. Honestly,  I was very scared to go in. It would have been OK if there was one dog, well, maybe two, but there were four of them! And let's not forget that they are Tibetian mastiffs, even, as the owner says, they are still puppies. But even more - they started growling when I came closer and even jumped on the net, separating us from each other. It's understandable, I am a stranger to them and they were guarding their territory, but Victor convinced me to go in. 

 I was extremely scared, they were sniffing me and trying to get to know me better.
 

 

 I think our acquaintance was good, I stopped being nervous or worried, we made friends and I was charmed by their kindness.
 

 I was delighted to share all cuddles and love those dogs gave me.
 

 The dogs did wont to let me go  

 

 I didn't get a nice photo of all of them, as they were running around and playing, not listening to their owner very carefully.  Well, they are still puppies. 

 I was able to take a picture of two of them. 

My meeting with Tibetan mastiffs was coming to an end, I can tell that those dogs are nice and cute animals, but I could still feel their power and strength. Your feelings get mixed together when you are around them. 

 I hugged them when I was saying goodbye.
 

 I think it would be very interesting to see how big they'll get when they grow up. I hope they won't forget me!


Sort:  

Ого, на 6 и 7 фотографии - почти львы! :)

Собачки просто чудо!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59