I have lovely warm buns.... 9 KETO BREAD BUNS, all for me.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I got up this morning with full intentions of having a go at making Keto Bread, I had all the ingredients in ready, the recipe was on my phone so no excuses. I wanted to make this as one thing i do miss on this plan is bread, bread was my biggest problem. Now i have no excuse, I can enjoy a bun. A warm bun with Butter, Yum.

I get a lot of recipes from The Diet Doctor site, They have everything you could want on there.

https://www.dietdoctor.com/explore

Keto Bread.jpg

Ingredients

1¼ cups almond flour
5 tbsp ground psyllium husk powder
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sea salt
2 tsp cider vinegar
1 cup boiling water
3 egg whites
2 tbsp sesame seeds (optional)

Keto bread.jpg

Preheat the over to 350 f (175 C) or 4 Gas.

Mix all the dry ingredients together,

Bring the water to a boil then add to the dry mixture with the Vinegar and Egg Whites while beating with a hand mixer. The mixture should look like Play Doh.

Keto Bread 2.jpg

Moisten your hands, grease a baking sheet then add 6 pieces of dough to the tray. As you can see below i used a bun tray and managed to make 9.

Keto bread 3.jpg

Bake on the lower rack of the oven for 50 - 60 minutes.

They are done when you tap the bottom of the bun and they sound hollow.

I followed the recipe, it was quite easy apart from finding a tablespoon, all we have is dessert spoons, i did remember we used to have measuring spoons, Thankfully I found the 1/2 tablespoon spoon.

The mixture felt very much like Play Doh, it was very gluey, having moist hands helped with making into buns. I found using the bun tray easier, i oiled it before hand just to make sure they didn't stick. Unfortunately i mustn't have oiled the bottom enough as they did stick a little. I did leave until cooler before removing using a knife that helped ease them from the tray. I didn't use Sesame Seeds to top them as wanted to see what they were like plain. I will use them next time to give myself a change.

50 minutes later I found these little beauties.

Keto bread 5.jpg

I opened one as you can see above, the base is nice and fluffy but the top is empty, maybe i beat it to much, i maybe should have molded it in my hands more to get rid of the air. I will try that next time. I spread some butter on the bottom half, it was very tasty, tastier than i expected. I thoroughly enjoyed the little bun. I am going to freeze some plus leave a couple out for me tomorrow. I am at last going to have a cheese sandwich or have them warm with butter and Cream Cheese.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Oh dear airbreads, but still if they taste yummy it's no waste plus they are perfect for filling.

Very true, :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05