Introducing new food for hubby's diet. We are heading in the right direction.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Today has gone better than i expected. Hubby has been on a diet since Monday gone, the Doctor has told him to cut back on Carbohydrates and Sugar, the plan that i have been trying to get him on since i started it last August The Fast 800 when i started it the plan was called The Blood Sugar Diet. I have lost 53lbs and still going. he has High Blood Pressure and High Cholesterol, his Dr says if he loses a stone the medication he takes will probably be reduced. She advised him to stop drinking Alcohol as well as Sugar & Carbohydrates.

He hasn't coped very well with living on salads for his lunch, he has been coming in starving. The Doctor advised him to try Almond Flour Bread. Now my hubby isn't one who likes new things, he likes what he likes and doesn't like to change, He doesn't like something even if he hasn't tried it.

I made Spaghetti Bolognese for our tea, he isn't a massive fan of Pasta but when i told him we would be having Courgetti Spaghetti instead he looked appalled, He watched me as i made it, as i used my new tool to peel the Courgette into Spaghetti, I fried some Butter and then added the Courgette Spaghetti, I cooked it for around 5 minutes stirring it all the time. I plated it up then watched whilst he ate it sorry no photo's as i wasn't quick enough. Let's just say he was very impressed with it, said it tasted lovely and would definitely eat it again.

I also made an Almond loaf for him to try. I found the recipe here:

https://www.ditchthecarbs.com/low-carb-almond-flour-bread/?fbclid=IwAR0gb9gerhnnlDWCzstOPQdpOwOzIC4JbziYzRhBY1eXXgFCIH_9Dhc_rWA

I was pretty impressed on how it turned out, its easy to make, and looks really nice.

Almond flour bread.jpg

INGREDIENTS

200g Almond Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1tsp Salt
20g Psyllium Husk
4 Medium Eggs
50g Coconut Oil (Melted)
125ml Warm Water.

INSTRUCTIONS

Place all dry ingredients into a mixing bowl,
Add the Eggs, Coconut Oit & Warm Water.
Mix until combined, (Do not over mix)
Pour into a lined loaf tin,
Bake at 180c/350F or Gas Mark 4 for 30 minutes or until Golden brown.

I made it just for him coming in so he can try it hot then cold. He thought it looked good but was a bit wary on trying it as he doesn't like Almonds Or Coconut, fingers crossed then.

I cut him a slice with some Butter on, his first thought was its nice but then said it left a nasty aftertaste in his mouth, I tried a piece, i thought it was lovely, all i could taste was Almonds & Coconut, but i like that taste so it didn't bother me. We then waited for supper time when i cut myself 2 slices, spread some Butter and a slice of Cheese, at first hubby said he didn't want any then he saw mine and decided he would try 1 slice, once he had finished his slice he said he enjoyed it more than he thought so i halved my second slice with him. Now he is thinking about things he can have with it. Looks like i am going to have to make another batch tomorrow.

I think he is starting to open his mind to new foods, he hasn't been tempted to eat naughty food tonight, he isn't hungry either so that is a massive step in the right way.

ONE STEP AT A TIME


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  


This post is manually curated by @azizbd and received an upvote from @SchoolForSDG4
School For SDG4
A School For Social and Educational Development of Underprivileged Children

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The slave should tell the Dr that it is part of the Drs job to worry, and there is no point two of us worrying about the same thing,
That is why we visit the Drs, to unload any worry on them. :-)

That is very true, very wise indeed :)

Thats bread looks so good and your hubby sounds like I used to be I liked what I liked and didnt want to change, changing your diet and lifestyle is such a challenge but it is worth persevering, I am almost used to my new healthier diet

The bread is tasty, we have a couple of slices with marmite and cheese, very tasty :)

you show people marmite here and they think your nuts but luckily one store has it and I always have it in the house, on bread it is the best

Hello @karenb54, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you :)

I hope your husband gets used to and eat better and his health improves

I hope your husband
Gets used to and eat better
And his health improves

                 - denissemata


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

He had better as its better for him :)

the doc told him to cut back on carbs and sugar? that's crazy, when so many have been telling the opposite for decades 😀

This Dr is very much into this eating plan, its what she does and it works :)

baby steps are important when dealing with men those who resist change lol.

That is so true haha :)

Sounds like the both of you are doing better.

Small steps :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98