Gifts My Mother Gave Me

in #life6 years ago

Source

I'm sitting here thinking on Mother's Day about the gifts my mom gave me. She didn't give me the gift of life but she taught me what real life can be.

She allowed and encouraged me to explore my world and discover that life is a wonderful adventure.

She taught me that taking responsibility for my own actions is what leads to a good night's sleep.

She taught me to be my own judge of my own actions and work, and not to rely on others for feel good messages and hollow accolades.

She taught me that age, sadness, fear, and boredom are merely a state of mind that can be overcome.

She taught me that a sense of humor is the best way to greet the world.

She taught me to take action against injustice, to see the other side in every encounter, to give the benefit of the doubt to every angry, frustrated, unpleasant person I run into.

She taught me to preserve, protect and replenish the earth we live on.

She taught me how to handle the cataclysms of life with dignity, not anger, depression or fear.

I never learned the house cleaning lessons very well. I tested her patience at every turn. I didn't raise my kids the way I was raised, but what I did learn and take to heart has been invaluable.

Now that she is gone, I miss our frequent phone conversations, the warm comfortable adult relationship we evolved into. The wisdom she shared and the advice that wasn't always what I wanted to hear but was always right on the mark.

Loveya mum.

Sort:  

Love this part:

"She taught me that age, sadness, fear, and boredom are merely a state of mind that can be overcome."

She must have been an amazing woman.

She sounds incredible and strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86