I Love Procrastinating!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

We are always looking for excuses to not to do what we are supposed to. It's almost like self-sabotage. It's really sad when you are stressed out later because you didn't get everything is done. When we could have quickly got it all done with our time.

Lack Of Motivation

We are often unmotivated waiting for the next fix to get ourselves going. This behavior can be dangerous. Motivation is not an unlimited resource. It's something we use up throughout the day. Just because we cannot see or touch it, does not mean it's not there or can't run out. Whenever we make a decision, we use up some of our motivation. This makes it harder to be decisive later on and get things done.

Perfectionism

We often don't want to start something, because we are worried we can't do it entirely. I'm guilty of this all the time; I don't want to start drawing unless I can finish it. But sometimes I have a perfect window of 10 minutes, that will allow me to get most of it done. Instead, I waste that 10 minutes when I could've done a relatively decent amount of the drawing. Perfectionism causes us not to start, we often think that being a perfectionist is a good thing, but a terrible thing and it can inhibit us from accomplishing our goals because things will never be perfect. Next time you want something to be perfect, stop right there and move onto the next task. Many of our requirements for the day, involve us just doing some tasks imperfectly. Most things don't have to be perfect or close to perfect.

Easier Tasks

We often procrastinate because watching TV or playing on the phone is more comfortable than the task we have in front of us. Sometimes the tasks we give ourselves are way more complicated than they have to be. Breaking them down into smaller steps will allow us to do those tasks immediately. And make them seem less intimidating.

Not Sure How To Start

When we see our to-do list, we are often so overwhelmed we aren't sure where to start. The reality is we just need to get started on anything. That will kickstart the rest of our progress. We often have the all or nothing mentality. We either do all of our to-do list or none of it. Most of the time we do none of it. This is on the reason breaking it down into small steps can help us get things done. It allows things to appear more relaxed.

Procrastination doesn't mean that we are lazy. It often means we are struggling with something else. Sometimes that thing is a lot easier than we would expect. We just need to figure out how to overcome the obstacle.

Sort:  

So true. I am seeing this in my little one and it is making me reflect on how I was like that as a kid.

Simplification is how I felt with it. Find a couple answers to solve many riddles. For me some of the answers are:

Just start. Just do. You can handle whatever happens.

Listen to what your brain is trying to tell you.

Spend less time trying to fool yourself for greater comfort.

Works pretty good for me....the greatest of the procrastinators.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Perfectionism is what kills me! Your perfect 10 minute window just gave me an idea to set up a small one chair 10 minute work station to do those projects I've been procrastinating for years. Thanks for the idea :D

Btw is that a picture of you drinking a warm beverage?

"Procrastination is like a credit card: it's a lot of fun until you get the bill." :D ...one of my favourite qoutes;)

Wow, So true 👍

Yes, we all tend to procrastinate, me too. In fact everyone alive..... The who are successful tend not well what I see from it. Because it's a kind-of bad habits

Posted using Partiko Android

So if someone procrastinates at procrastinating...I suppose that means they are either motivated or...damn am I procrastinating at finishing my comment?

"The reality is we just need to get started on anything." this is the essence. Great post. Resteemed.

Posted using Partiko Android

I tend to half do stuff, then pause for a breather and never start again; so I'm trying to focus more on mentally committing to complete something before I start. Enthusiasm will get you started, but determination is what gets you finished.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Reading this made me feel much calmer about my own procrastination, which in and of itself makes it easier to focus :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75