Meal Prep: Yummy Breakfast Burritos!

in #life7 years ago


A lot of people laugh at me because of my eating habits. I do meal prep to save time and money. I started eating this way when I noticed that I spent most of my days, Not eating or Going out to eat when I got so hungry. As A busy person, I don't always have time to cook. I also can't afford Freshly Every week yet. Family members always ask if I get bored of eating the same thing for almost a week at a time. And I sometimes do. But It's so nice having food already made to eat so I can focus on getting work done for my business!
Here are some yummy breakfast burritos I made! I've been trying to get rid of tortillas & Eggs so this was a great way to do so.

Eggs

Seasoned with a variety of spices and blended. I like my eggs to be light and fluffy. So I use an egg beater to get them nice and blended until the top "foams". I know a lot of people who add milk to their eggs. But I don't, I've noticed that the eggs seem more "wet" when you add milk. I like my eggs to be more dry.

Cilantro

Cilantro and avocados are like the best veggies out there! It's crazy to think some people don't like cilantro. It's so cheap too. Paid only 0.50 for this.

Cooking The Sausage!


Rice

I found a good looking recipe online that used Tomato Bullion for the Mexican rice, Sadly though I couldn't find it at the store, So I decided to use Salsa instead and seasonings. I love rice cookers! I used to struggle to make rice just right without one.

Preparing My Containers

I hope to get glass or metal containers later on. I don't like using plastic. But for now, These are the containers that I have.
My rice turned out delicious and fluffy!

My Breakfast Burrito Production Line

I love meal prep, Because I can quickly line things up and get them ready really quickly.

Eggs, Hot sauce, Sausage, Cilantro, Jalapeno,
I definitely should of put more green in there!

Done!

For Next Time

More green! And Smaller serving sizes. I haven't been able to finish each container in one sitting. So I've been eating half, Putting it back in the fridge then saving it for the next meal. Which is nice because I'm saving even more time, As this food is covering more meals.

What do you do to save time on cooking?

Sort:  

One does not simply have too many burritos! Hehe ;)
Also, it doesn't matter if your eating habits aren't like everyone else's, I sometimes have lunch or leftovers from dinner, for breakfast etc!

If it works for you and you're happy with it, that is what matters and it helps you have the time for business purposes too. Keep at it :)

Looks like my kind of food. I didn't enjoy washing all of those dishes though!

My favorite food. I'll also have breakfast with you. Feed me @kaylinart

Oh boy, all those jalapenos. I can't handle that in the AM, those burritos would turn into dinner time ones for me :-)

Aww You can't ? Hhaha!! Right? They are great for dinner or breakfast!

Have you tried freezing the burritos. My wife and I made about a months supply of breakfast burritos like that and froze them. They microwave pretty good and since they're frozen they last almost forever (maybe exagerating a little).

Don't know if you're looking to meal prep that far in advance, but have to say they're like 90% as tastey as they were when they were fresh and I have home cooked breakfast for a while that is way better than popping poptarts in the microwave.

Well since I've beat the bush enough try making an extra one and freezing it. May save you more time and money by increasing production!

This is a great idea to save time and money. I've noticed that I frequently end up eating out and when I add up the cost over a week, the savings of cooking at home are huge! I really like your method because 1 of the biggest problems I have cooking at home is cooking for just 1 person. It's just so hard to make a recipe so small. With this I could double a normally recipe and make 6-8 servings and have a meal done for the entire week. I like it, I like it a lot!!

Right? I have that issue too! I can't imagine people cooking for themselves only making 1 meal worth. That seems like a lot of dishes, And a lot of time wasted. Maybe you can use a similar method as me :)

That Looks Delicious, I Never Had A Burrito But This One Seems Yummy :) Thanks For Sharing !

You haven't? You should try it sometime!

I would surely give it a Try... your meal has made me Hungry already. Welldone @kaylinart
Thanks for sharing, watching out for your next post.

Mmm home cooked meals are the best!

Right? thats why I still try and have them even when I'm super busy. Or eat the same thing everyday! LOL

heheh I've been digging the salad and soup meals I make for lunch! Simple healthy and saves you so much money! BTW based on your last message to me... are you thinking about going to Steemfest? :)

Aww those sound good I need to eat like that more, It would probably help me lose a lot of weight.
Sadly I can't go to Steem fest until next year. I wasn't able to get my passport in time! I'm going to get it ASAP though So I can go next year.

aww yea... I thought I wasn't going to like eating salads, but if you mix up the ingredients its actually quite good! :)

Awww... yea actually it turned out my passport would expire before 6 months, so I rushed it... you might be able to do that... it comes back in the mail 2 to 3 weeks.

I do exactly the same. I cook all of my lunches for the week on Sunday. Then, I only need to throw it in my lunch bag and head to work. :-)

Isn't it so much easier? Haha! The nice thing is you can still mix it up pretty easy too. Different vegetables or snacks.

Quite often, I'll keep my proteins, carbs and veg in separate containers. So, then I can pretend I'm at a buffet and just pick what I want. :-)

Don't let anybody tell you burritos aren't a good meal! XD
Actually I don't know what to do :'( saving in meals is difficult, my husband never wants to eat the same again x.x we waste a lot and sometimes he spends in expensive ingredients that we never use and have to throw away rotten...he says he is going to cook something amazing but doesn't have time..he actually loves cooking and I dislike it :s we still can't find balance there u.u
Any help or ideas would be highly appreciated!

Aww man :(
Maybe you can re-purpose leftovers!? Like if you make burritos, you can turn them into a different kind of meal with similar ingredients for the next night? Maybe you can help him out with his other responsibilities to help free up a little time for him to cook :)

Buying less could help too if you are wasting a lot!

x_x this bad internet erased my answer...
I was saying thanks for the idea x) next time he buys something weird I will ask what that's for and organize so he can cook =)

Burritos!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83