Why We Do The Bare Minimum?

in #life7 years ago

shutterstock_102314278.jpg

Some of us go through life only doing the absolute minimum.
The minimum it takes to keep your job, The minimum in your relationship, so you don't get dumped. You never do any extra unless it's asked. But for the most part, you do enough to get by.

You are Always 1 point away from losing it all

When you only focus on the bare minimum. You are always close to losing important things in your life. If you do the bare minimum at your job, You may lose it when you fall ill. If you aren't doing your best in your relationship, you may lose it all if someone much better comes along to appreciate that person.
Doing the bare minimum can drastically effect every aspect of your life.

Doing The Bare Minimum Is Easy

Many people are drawn to doing less because it's easy and we want to do less. We get that feeling of accomplishment without doing any serious work. Our brains naturally gravitate towards tasks like this, because we can save energy while feeling like we accomplished more.
chess-2727443_960_720.jpg

You May Wait For Opportunities to Come To You

I've noticed that many people wait for large opportunities to come to them. Their dream job, Their dream training. But nothing that they want comes a long. So instead of looking for opportunities, they wait.
One thing I always wanted in life, Was to do fine art all day. And while I don't get to do that all day, I get to draw and make designs. And write. So it's close to what I wanted originally. I didn't get to where I am by waiting for opportunities. I was actively seeking them by doing searches, Networking and reading books. As well as going out when I could. I've noticed that many "bare minimum" people also do the bare minimum when it comes to their future. And how can you expect to get anything you want with that mindset?

Diminishing Returns

There is one benefit for those of us who do the bare minimum, and that's the law of diminishing returns, Which states that there is is a point where we see less and less added benefit for doing more. Sometimes it's best when we don't go above that threshold Because we will be putting in significantly more effort into it while receiving less reward. Some people see this as an income of 75,000 per year of income. Many studies have proven that the happiness level of people doesn't go up very much more, Yet people making above that. May have to work a lot harder making it less worth it. Some jobs that pay by the hour are the same way, When People don't see any real benefits to working harder, They don't. They are being paid by the hour anyway.

This rule can be applied to many things.

Conclusion

Life is tricky sometimes, It's often better to go above the bare minimum in parts of your life that are very important to you, While doing more than the bare minimum in other areas may not be worth it because you don't' always see the added benefits.

What does doing the bare minimum mean to you?

()U5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.pngU5dsNpZzTkSdUzcjVGTR3RdFY1SBMmJ_1680x8400.png
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

I find doing the bare minimum to be boring and worthless to me. I like a challenge and though not having to do as much and gain more would be good, you realistically still have to work hard to get to a point where it takes less effort i.e. getting the Steemit follower base going and knowing your posts are what will get you the followers and the bonus of extra gains to help support you in life i.e. you getting your car.

So long as you do whatever is your preference and are happy with your choices/where you are in life or getting to in life, then that is what matters.

I see you haven't scrubbed too hard and lost your house yet hehe. 😉

Right?? I feel the same way! Heheh :) The bare minimum is very boring!
I love your comments! Heheh and nope! Still haven't cleaned my house to the point of disappearing lol XD

Yup, right! And what are we now left with? A hand in an unnecessary joke XD. Couldn't help myself. 😂
Aww and I love your comments/replies too! Hehe and good! 😉

If you did not read Tim Ferris's " The 4 Hour Work Week" you have to .
I have a strong feeling that you will relate :)

@kaylinart - What an important point you have highlighted here my friend!! We will never have time in life for doing everything to the fullest extent. Nor does it make sense to do everything with full effort and intensity. You are very right in pointing out that we should only do the bare minimum for some things while we should go beyond bare minimum for others. It is all about setting priorities in life and striving to achieve some goals

In my case, the bare minimum. for the things I consider important, are when I feel satisfied about my effort. I tend to be a perfectionist sometimes and that is not always good. So I have to balance and decide how much effort is 'bare minimum' for top quality work in my view.

Thanks for this important point. Upvoted full.

When you have time and inclination, I request you to check out my blog on my debut digital art combined with my story of how Steemit brought out the bare minimum effort on Social media to an all new level in me. Your comments will be very valuable and appreciated since you are an artist . Thanks

Regards,

@vm2904

I have suggested before it is the lowest grade of American Work Ethics. The employer will pay so little money that the employee will not leave and go elsewhere, the employee will do the minimum amount of work to not get fired. This is the core at the downfall of the USA.

Wow brilliant! I've never heard of that. I think if both the employee and the employer did more the world would be so much better.

I seem to go in phases where I do the bare minimum, than get feel the urge to do more and turn in to hurricane mode where everything I do gets full effort lol

At the bare minimum I am going to comment @kaylinart and her postings all I can. All I can do is GIVE all I can. STEEMIT is that Blessing to everyone who does MORE than the bare minimum...............

I tend to do the opposite ... doing way more than the minimum. However, sometimes when you exceed the bare minimum, others don't appreciate the effort which leads one to do only the minimum required next time.

If you want others to do more than the minimum, show a little appreciation.

Also, I think people tend to do the minimum when they don't really care about what they're doing ... often because they have to do it rather than want to do it.

i think BARE means.... to live, eat, ,reproduce ,earn n die ... just like animals... the real worth of life is to DISCOVER THE LIFE FOR EVER......

For me I have always been driven by the sense that the most successful and talented people are the ones who work the hardest at improving themselves. When I was a grad student I was reading over 50 nonfiction books a year because I wanted to go above and beyond. That mindset still drives me today in all aspects of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29