Meeting Up With Alumni of UTM

in #life5 years ago

My alma mater, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia had come to DBKL, the city council of Kuala Lumpur to do an exhibition as well as some master plan and design presentations to the public and also the council members. At the very last day, I dropped by to support and catch up with my friend, @amirulhakimjamil. He is currently doing his PhD on space syntax, a specialized area where sociology is involved and he studied on how human behave and anticipate how the human circulation will occur in urban context. It is a very interesting study as we can observe how people navigate around the city and as urban designer, we can allocate different elements on the hot spots so that the infrastructure could be utilized optimally. Besides that, this also help with the optimization of space in the city, especially in those tiny alleys, back lanes, pocket spaces that left untouched and underutilized most of the time. This could potentially turn these spaces into new hot spots and get more people to involve in the city.

Personally, I do think that keeping in touch with the academic world is good to keep me in a constant learning mode. I get to see and feel first hand with the fire of passion within the students which then influence me as well. I am more of a vibe person that I need to get myself into the right environment so that I could make myself more productive and forward going. I do not want to get myself in a place whereby everyone is contended and not interested in winning. That will be very boring and I will see myself looking the same old me day by day. Moreover, get to work with some talented students are pretty awesome and we all could learn from each other from such collaboration.

I had been visiting this exhibition for a continuous three years in a row. After I graduated from UTM, though not that frequent, I’m still in touch with the lecturers and friends that are still with the school. Education is one of my favorite as I am always fascinated with sharing the knowledge and skills I get from different occasions. Not only I could strengthen my own understanding about the topic I share about, this also allows me to pick up better communication and psychology skill to understand the need of a person, especially finding and tackle the curiosity of a person. Sometime, I do find myself lack with curiosity as I do not want to use too much time finding out things but just want to finish up the thing. That’s pretty sad as this would not bring time to point that I understand what I’m doing but just knowing I could complete the task and free from it.

My friend also shared with me about his new set up in the studio, called workplace (if not mistaken). So it is like a group of like minded people, work and play in the same place, in the given studio space by the school. This allows them to have interaction, brainstorming and different work collaboration with ease. I believe that this will bring forth a lot of great works at the end of the semester. As for startup, this is a good setting too while the early startup team is pumped with the day and get all in to achieve something. This is something that I need to create in my life and I am grateful to have friends from different background supporting me.

Looking forward to meet you again bro!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

帅哥/美女!@wherein邀请您来参加美味就是家常味带我看看,你的城市活动,展现您的精彩生活瞬间。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97