Tips for New parents from a new dad.

in #life6 years ago

My names Michael Getty have been a parent for about two and a half months now and i gotta say, yeah its everything everyone has been telling me forever, and more! Not really understanding what exactly people were telling me, in through one ear and out the other...but how could i understand i wasn't a parent! Being a parent is a huge learning experience because you kinda gotta do it to get it but here are some of the things i have learned that i feel like i can share that no one really explained..

  1. No sleep:
    people always say that your not going to get any sleep at the beginning but no one ever told me why, well at the start they eat like every 2 hours so not having any idea of this i soon realized i had to be up at least every four hours if i was taking turns with my Partner. Good news is they sleep a lot more at the start after a couple months now we have to put him on a schedule or hes up for a long ass time...like all night...

  2. They change, fast!:
    just when you think you have mastered the routine BAM they change...and grow...and your like Wtf is my kid ok? is this normal? well they change a shit ton. don't buy too many newborn diapers or clothes at one time because they out grow that stuff in the first month or two. my kids 2 months and he now is wearing 6 month old clothing, hes a Milk monster!

  3. Crying:
    I noticed for me when this guy cries it triggers a fight or flight response in my body, i cant help but feel "whats wrong! how can i fix you!?" but its OK for them to cry! they need to be able to comfort themselves. but my tip for avoiding getting triggered because my kid always cries when i change his diaper or clothing, so i just pop in my head phones blast some good tunes and dance around and have a good time while hes screaming his head off.

  4. take care of yourself!
    you cant help anyone if you don't take care of yourself first. that also means not stopping doing the things you love. for me i love movies, so i watch a movie or tv show pretty much every time he needs to eat.

This has been the most rewarding experience i have ever gone through so far, also the most demanding of me to step the fuck up, not just for him but for myself. A very wise person said to me. " Take a breath, go for a walk, know that you got this. and remember you can accomplish anything on a couple hours of sleep" true story.

Happy Parenting! 25659609_10159960877625651_3621612206076766532_n.jpg
one of his very first smiles over the holidays and i just happened to already be taking a picture.

Sort:  

Be ready with a phone nearby to catch the many 1st moments. Record those happy moments. Soon enough, your baby will be in the terrible twos! Then it’s all over. j/k. Best to you!

haha! thanks! im ready for it :D

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Loved this! So cool you jam out while he's crying! He probably appreciates the space to be him and allow whatever's coming up for him to come up and not having you crammed into his reality wondering what's wrong...? Smart!

Congratulations @kite-ninja! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59