My Complicated and Dysfunctional Relationship with Sleep

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sleep is more like a curse than a blessing to me, or rather the whole effort that sleeping involves. I can not remember ever being able to just "fall asleep". My relationship with sleep has always been complicated. While I do not suffer from night terrors, sleep paralysis or problems with waking up several times a night I seem to be unable to figure out how to properly fall asleep. So, as it is once again 7 am and I am not even sleepy yet, I might as well write a little something about this issue of mine.


Image source

The possible root of this problem

So, why do I have this issue? Well, that is something several therapists and I have asked ourselves during these past 14 years. No one is sure but there are theories. One stems from my childhood. My parents were separated and my sister and I used to spend every second weekend at my father's place. Problem was, he was a drinker. I will not go down that road of explaining that mess in this post, but the problem was that he used to pass out. As a kid, you get taught that it is important to shut down electronics before you sleep, otherwise, they might catch fire and kill your whole family. As the angsty and worried kid I was, I took this very seriously. I remember that even if I was only a couple of years old, I stayed up until I heard my dad snoring so I could go and tell him to sleep in his real bed, but in the end, I started to just shut the tv off. That way he did not get angry at me. This went on for years and years and I think this habit and worry is one of the reasons as to why I can not fall asleep properly. Even now that I am 26 years old I can not fall asleep unless I am the last person awake and I know all electronics are safely shut off. Some therapists have argued that this is not the reason since my situation has changed, my life is not as it was when it was a kid and therefore this should be a non-issue by now. While I somehow agree with them, a part of me still believes this is one of the main issues to my complicated relationship with something that is supposed to be blissful is rather stressful for me.

Why therapy has not worked so far

Sleep and therapy can also be a bit of a sigh-inducing matter to me. It is easy for me to know if a new one is good or not depending on how they choose to tackle this issue. As I usually have not slept before my sessions, out of fear of oversleeping, it is very clear that this is a big issue already from the start. However, some suggest that sleeping is the first thing we are going to work on. I am to start going to bed early and just force it, and even if I do not manage to fall asleep in time, and even if I only get one hour of sleep, I should get up at a reasonable hour. This sounds like the perfect solution right? Well, it does, on paper at least. What they have failed to do was taking me seriously since I would have told them that I've already tried that several times before since that is what most people suggest I do. Therapists can have a hard time swallowing their pride, to be honest, and I do not mean to be rude, but there have been so many times where they have been more interested in proving that their methods are universally right rather than listening to me, their patient. So then, I return and what a chock, it did not work! Then, they usually start to take it more seriously. Others, thankfully, start working on the issues surrounding my sleep. I have the easiest time sleeping when I have something to wake up to, don't have that many mental problems and a rich social life. Those who listen, know that the issues that are linked to my sleeping issues need to be resolved before the big problem can be solved. It makes sense really, focusing on solving the small bits creating the big thing. Sadly, very few have listened so I have not been able to work as much as I have wanted on this.

What I have tried so far

Before well, last year, even if my sleeping schedule has been a mess it has not bothered me much. I studied from home when I was in school and never had a real job until then. I managed to get enough sleep when I was working, especially since I had my best friend as my only work buddy and she could cover for me when needed. Now I am once more unemployed and while I currently suffer from a cold, it is not that fun to wake up at 9 pm. I well, want to have a life now. My mental health has probably never been this good and I can finally start thinking that there may be a future out there for me. The sleeping gets in the way, however. And before you start judging because heck, even though it is me writing this I start to get a bit frustrated at myself thinking that it can't be as hard as I am making this out to be, right? Well, sadly it is.

I have not just tried one thing, I have tried everything that friends, therapists, family and strangers on the internet have suggested. Here is a small list of some of them:

  • Sleeping pills. Tried them in various strengths, from harmless herbal ones to antihistamines to the real heavy stuff. They rarely work, some make my brain get super creative so I end up writing instead and while the heavy stuff tends to work for a couple of days my body builds up resistance quickly so there is no time to correct my failed sleeping schedule. One is also adviced not to take them regularly since they can be rather addictive. In the end, it can take around 3 weeks to introduce a new habit after all. The heavy stuff also makes me uneasy as it feels like I lose control and I am a bit of a control freak so... Another issue to add to the list.

  • Relaxation. While relaxation can be nice, it does not make me sleepy. I usually need to be sleepy and tired to fall asleep, not just tired, which is why the next part doesn't work either.

  • Exercise. While this is great for health overall, it doesn't help much. Especially since I can only do so much exercise from home. With my mental health issues, mixed with my IBS and how damned cold it is in this country most of the year, I rarely find enough motivation to go outside and take walks, especially as I hate them. I do try to exercise at home and one day I hope to be able to go to a gym without wanting to die. In the end, I think exercise will help my sleeping issues a lot, but I am not quite there yet.

  • Thinking about nothing. This is something my ex suggested, as it works for him. I am however unable to just, shut my brain off. It was worse before I was on my meds since my thoughts would just spin around in my head. Before one thought was done I would be onto the next. It was a mess, to put it lightly. I am a bit scared to be alone with my thoughts also, as they usually start heading in a negative direction. I try to counter this by being exhausted mentally so I can't really think anymore.

I want a life, not a mess

The list goes on, but those are the big four that I can think of now. I have not given up on fixing this issue. I have waited more than 1.5 years on getting a new therapist, who will hopefully be able to tell me everything that is wrong with me so I can finally start working on the right things. A lot of things sucks about being undiagnosed, but trying to work on every possible thing is probably the suckiest one. I have tried so much in my life, and while it has probably enriched my life in some ways I am a bit tired of doing what feels like fumbling around in the dark, hoping to find a light-switch. I want to live a somewhat normal life, even if I am not a somewhat normal person. I am, however, hopeful. That I will be able to sleep blissfully one day, and see it as a blessing rather than the curse it is now.

Sort:  

This sound really hard. Sleep is an important thing for health and our mental wellness. You childhood night at your fathers place does not sound very healthy for a kid, so sad for you that you had to experience that. I had the sam issue as a kid to check the stove was turned of and so on. But my parents went to bed in a reasonable time, I went up and checked and then I could sleep. i hated when they had parties though with candles... So I can see why you had those sleeping problems as a kid.
I hope you find someone that can help you with this.

Thank you, and I'm glad your issues did not follow you into adulthood. I wish it would be faster to get proper help in a progressive country such as Sweden, but it has been longer than 1.5 years now! Thankfully, I get help when it comes to other matters of my life but it really annoys me that I have to wait this long to get the help I need.

I think the most important thing with any mental disorder, chronic illness, or sleeping disorder is supportive and understanding friends, family and loved ones.
My SO has fibromyalgia, this means she lives in constant pain. Some days she feels like I do most days, some pain, but it's not distracting, it doesn't make life harder. Some days everything takes more energy and more focus to get it done. And some days it's crippling. And you can never tell what kind of day it's going to be.
The way I make it tolerable (I hope) is by accepting that this is the situation, and that some plans just don't work out. I don't let it get to me, it's just something that happens. We deal with it.
It's like someone catching a cold, and canceling. Only it happens a bit more frequently than people usually catch colds.
Since meeting her I've also become a lot more accepting to people canceling "just because". Maybe they woke up in a shitty mood. Maybe work was really frustrating. I don't want people to force themselves to meet me, well, unless it'll help get them out of the bad mood.

Your situation is not that different. You might not be able to get any sleep, and tough, will need to sleep over something you scheduled. Sure, you should work on fixing it, but in the meantime, work on accepting the situation, and if you accept it, and are open about it, you'll find the people that will also be accepting of it.

Lastly, it wasn't listen on the things you tried, so I might as well throw it out there. Doubt it'll fix everything, but on occasion it might help.
Try imagining landscapes before going to sleep. Create worlds in your mind. I usually end up floating across a field, and off a cliff and over an ocean. Avoid an inner dialog, don't say to yourself "And the trees can be purple, and the grass red" just see it in your mind's eye.

Good luck with the new therapist!

I totally agree that it is so important to have people around you that understand, most of my friends and family do but sometimes they get really bummed out if my sleep or IBS gets in the way of our plans but mostly they are very understanding. I have sort of accepted that I have issues and have to live my life with them but I also know most of them are hopefully not chronic. I'm sorry to hear about your SO's fibromyalgia, I know of some friends who suffer from it and it sounds like hell. It is great that you manage to be so understanding, my ex did his best but sometimes it was just so hard when he couldn't even after I explained several times.

And that tip might help! I used to imagine being alone on an island and thinking of ways to survive, and it might sound stressful but it was actually really calming. Will start to attempt to see some landscapes, rather than thinking them and hopefully it will help a bit :) thanks!

Ugh. Sleep is so important, but I hear you on getting to sleep being difficult. It's always taken me forever to get to sleep, stemming from overthinking and unreasonable amounts of self-inflicted guilt and shame as a girl. Yoga has helped me, and having a spiritual practice (obviously this is different for everyone). But in the end, I usually go to sleep allowing my imagination to roam into different worlds and different possibilities, drifting to sleep on the wings of fantasy.

I hope you find an approach that works. Peace to you.

I've always had a love/hate relationship with sleep. When I was younger (pre-teen and teens) I'd often not fall asleep until 5 or 6am, then my mother would make me get out of bed around 10am because it wasn't "normal" to sleep later than that. Now, if hubby is on a break from work, it's not unusual for he, our three kids, and I to pull all-nighters. Oh, and our two girls also struggle with sleep issues on a regular basis. Sending lots of calm, sleep-filled vibes your way!

Saaaaamneee the sleep struggle is so real. Average ppl be like why cant you sleep you party animsl?!?! Uhhhhhhhh . Its not like that but , ok.

Have you thought about meditation? It doesn’t free you from having thoughts, but is really helping me not dwell on them, or i guess the best works is ‘manage’ them inside my head. It’s similar to relaxation but very different. You need to get some sleep girl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68