We are all Good at Something

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it can be hard to remember that we are actually better than we think we are. Especially if something in your life has happened that makes you think otherwise and even more so if you suffer from depression.

A few months ago I was laid off from the first job I could do that did not give me so much anxiety I felt like I'd rather die. I was able to translate entertainment news articles (fancy name for clickbait) from the safety of my own home. My hours were flexible since I worked with my best friend and we could cover from each other if needed be. All good things sadly finds a way to end and I felt like I was worthless. I was worried how I would be able to pay my rent since welfare is my absolute last resort. It was then I realized that all my friends and family have something to fall back on if all else fails. My sister's boyfriend, for example, is an amazing artist to the point him and my sister have their own company and website just for this. You can check that out here! My best friend is also a great artist, as seen here. Most of my friends are also currently pursuing a lot of interesting and impressive educations. So, while I was happy for them, I was a bit sad that I did not have a special skill.

Those who are fortunate enough have educations they can fall back on, even if it might not be their dream job, since some choose an education that can benefit them financially and that's awesome, they can still fall back on that if needed. I have had to struggle with my messy mental health all my life I haven't been able to get a proper education, yet. Even if you have an education that may be a bit risky in terms of chance of employment, you still have learned a lot along the way that you can use, so no education is bad even if it is harder to fall back on than others. Just wanted to get that out there so it does not sound like I'm bashing on anyone.

So, what about me then? Well, each time I complained about not being good at anything while praising the people around me, each person told me the same thing. That I was good at writing. I scoffed at them, and I still sort of do, but they did have a point. I can write, I mean, I am hardly a professional writer and English is my second language, but it is something. I tried to work as a freelance writer and one of the few jobs I got was, in the end, one of my best ones. I was tasked to write articles that were insanely boring (think basically, explaining why hotels should invest in SmartTV's, that kind of boring) and other subjects I knew very little about. For eight hours of work, more than half of that was research, I got paid 5 dollars. Safe to say, I did not accept any more offers. It makes for a fun story but without it, I would probably not have given Steemit a chance. Here, I can write whatever I want to write about and probably get paid more than I did for that job.

While I am not exactly making a tonne of money, each dollar is proof to me that my friends were right. That there is actually at least one thing that I am good at. And sometimes you only need one good thing in life to start feeling better about yourself, and that is what matters, right?


image source: pexels.com

Thank you all for reading! I would love to read some comments on what you are good at!

Sort:  

Hi @kittylicious, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you! Saw it on discord and got really happy ^^

Hi @kittylicious thank you for this post. You have reminded us of being thankful for who we are even if we sometimes disagree. You are a great writer and you help others feel better about themselves. You deserve more credit than you think. Some things I am good at is any technological job or task related to pcs or macs, bringing a positive aura to a room, and helping others at a task that I can possibly do. What are the other things you do that you are good at?

That is so kind of you to say and it makes me so glad, thank you <3. I think it is really cool that you are good at techy stuff, I'm rubbish at it so it always amazes me when someone has a knack for it. Bringing a positive aura to the room is super rare and an underrated skill!

I guess the other things that I am good at is listening to my friends when they need to talk and only offer advice when they need it and respect their need to just vent sometimes. So I have some social skills still!

The Quickest way to success is by honoring your SELF! Everyone’s got their niche , that thing they are super passionate about.. hence really good at ⭐️

Sometimes it can just take a lot of time to find their niche, took 26 years for me but later is better than never.

A: you are really loving and open. Its a good skill. B you keep going. You are persistent.

Try new things! Stretch yourself.

i dropped out of highschool and waisted my life drinking and smoking pot and being too scared to be a musiciand until i went to community college at 23. Then at 27 i went to my dream school. Ive had a lot of highs and a lot of lows but i just keep being me. Because of my anxiety and depression i now work retail. It sucks. A lot. But the cool thing is that now i have steemit. Hopefully we can manage to keep supporting each other and getting the best work out of ourselves. DM if you needto tal more, ever. Im here. We're here. :)

I am so happy that you got into your dream school! One important thing is also to remember that life is a journey and there can't be good things without the bad ones.

I love the support from the girl power community :) thank you for your kind words, it means a lot.

I agree. You appear to be good at writing. I like the photo of the handwritten page, even if it is not your own. But as a writer myself, i love it. I love writing. I hope to someday just spend my mornings fashioning a story pen to page, and transcribing it on my old manual typewriter. Old timey guy here. But I do enjoy the analogue meditative process of writing. Then again, I also like peoples, and love doing improv. I've been improvising for over 17 years, 16 of them with my homies, The Reckoning. As of now, I'm... well, let's just say, I'm looking forward to moving back to LA where I will rejoin my friends on the stage. Stage and Page. That's me. Can't say I'm good at daytrading or crypto, but I like learning new things. So if I have a third thing I'm good at, it's learning. I enjoyed learning a little about you. Sounds like you have a bright tomorrow ahead. I'm wishing you all the very best here on steemit and wherever are, and with whatever you do. Cheers! :)

A good thing about writing is that you can do it in so many different ways, and in themselves, they become creative outlets sort of. So I get why you enjoy the old-timey stuff! You seem to be very creative and not willing to settle for just doing one creative thing which is pretty cool!

Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate them :)

I'm glad I chanced upon your blog! Reading your post made me think of how I can learn more about myself, and what I am best at doing. I love writing, and always have; however, I don't consider myself as great of a writer as those I often read and I want to improve my writing and hopefully gain a little income from creating content that is interesting and draws a response from others. Thanks for giving me something to reflect upon today!

The best thing about not being a great writer is that there is a lot of room to improve! Keep it up and in a month or so you will be able to look back and see some improvements I bet. I plan to do that for myself and hopefully notice a difference.

If writing is your passion...pursue it with a smile in your heart. Perhaps being here on steemit, you will never have to accept another dull, humdrum job. I wish you well.

Thank you! I think that for now, this is what I will focus on, and I am very happy to be able to do so :)

This was very relatable and fun to read! I completely feel you on the total freedom of expression it opens up worlds!! I do very much hope you have a lovely day!!:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75