Sal Khan: Let's teach for mastery - not test scores

in #life6 years ago

Ok, this Ted Talk might be a year old but the concept still needs to be spread as far as it can get. Every person is unique and has his/her own talent and abilities but the attention given to this fact is almost nil in our education system.

This is not something unheard off,rather a very basic problem that is why visionary people like Elon Musk have their kids study at a special school where every kid is catered to their special talent with the appropriate time needed to learn any particular skill.

The education system needs to undergo a change that gives every student a chance to master a topic before moving on to the next one and building on top of it.

Sort:  

Agree with you.... so often, you see students who just want to get a pass mark for a test or exam.....learning skills and abilities is actually more important that just passing a test....

The problem is kind of more general, we are also consuming so much data on a surface level and pretend to know so much but actually our knowledge is kind of shallow. It's nice to have broad knowledge but in almost all the cases it's all about mastery.

I completely agree with you, students today tend to focus on just memorising information.... taking education to the next level definitely requires a focus on Mastery....excellent post =)

When looking at trying to grow your Steemit account, I would like to share this tool I also used to help me grow my account, you might also benefit from it....Consider using Steemfollower to help you increase the value offered on your Steemit Account: https://steemfollower.com/?r=7547

Hope it helps =)

Hey! I saw your post in crypto empire discord thought I'd check it out! As someone who used to be a teacher... I totally agree with you! Thanks for spreading it and sharing it!

Thanks for passing by.

Specialization is the future!

My mom says I'm special

And I love special things.

Yeah. I feel one such way is to make the older group of a program teach the younger. That would just reinforce all the concepts. Not sure how practical that is. Tests can only give you one such signal.

@eonwarped It's actually super practical and smart. You know they used to do that in one room school houses 100 years ago? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71