You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Finding Dory left me Broken and in Tears (An Autism Mums Perspective on Wandering)

in #life7 years ago

I think your a wonderful loving mom first off, it can not be easy having autism affect your family. Your post struck me as oh wow! My son when watching the movie said "mom your just like Dory" but then he patted me on the knee and said "you know everyone loves dory don't you." It was nice to have him remind me that even if people know I am different and it's blantantly obvious to them... I do not sense that. I feel pretty comfortable around people. I have cognitive and memory and personality deficits from schizophrenia. People focus on the psychotic elements of the disorder but what hit me the hardest was the negative and cognitive symptoms. My husband really keeps a close eye on me with a GPS.

Sort:  

Thank you so much my babies are my life :)

Children can be so perceptive about these sort of things, and to be honest most discrimination is a learnt behaviour - kids might recognise someone is different but they usually just curious.

I am glad that mental health issues are being talked about more openly and honestly, I personally suffer from bipolar - manic depression - and I have a few friends that also have schizophrenia.

I wish a GPS would work for us, here in aus there really aren't any that don't require a full phone plan to work.

The other big issue with a GPS is she wont keep it on her, even the watch style gps is something she will just remove on her own - ahh I wish there was a way to attach it to her so she cant remove it, but nothing so far.

Hide it in her favorite shoes at the time! I great way to track your child wherever you go is to take a picture of their shoes before you head out the door. Even if someone has stalked them and brought clothes to put over their owns they originally had on they typically don't have time to change the kids shoes so when your child is lost in a crowd frantically have everyone look for for her feet based on your picture. People will start sucking down naturally to really help you and then you get a better view to spot your child like only a mom can! It is some weird survival news I heard one time. Also, the watch probably made noise or had an alarm setting if it was fancy. The beeping of a watch is so so frustrating if a noise and she hears that at a higher level. Even just glancing at the button will make her remember the noise and associate it with the watch and being to really dislike that watch. Bad noises to me are like the ultimate punishment. It hurts in a way you can't imagine. She'll do what she has too to avoid that noise for good!!! One thing I use that people kinda make fun of is a Fanny pack. Because I forget it's there but when I Need something I am like oh ya my little belly pouch has me covered. Maybe she would enjoy it like I do and a lady out in public the other day told me she had a feeling they were coming back in style but I don't know if she was just being nice or sincere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68707.59
ETH 3845.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63