A Fire Last Night At the Nearby Hardware Store

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Tragedy struck when a fire broke out last night at the nearby hardware store along the main road in our area. I was in my room sipping coffee and listening to some death metal, when I heard my Mom shouting upstairs. She then ran down the stairs and called me out of my room. That was when I heard the sirens, and I knew right away that there was a fire nearby.

I then drank the rest of my coffee, bottoms up, and dashed out of my room and out of the house. The fire was visible from our street, and I knew right away that it was one of the establishments along the main road, near the main gate of our village.

After checking the hose in the garage and telling Mom to get ready with it, just in case, I quickly dashed back in and raced up to the third floor to check things out up there. Our rooftop balcony on the third floor is our laundry area where we also have another hose, as well as the 9-foot high water tank.

As I raced up the stairs, I mentally recalled all of the shops or stores I knew were right in that short strip of business establishments along the main road. Then I heard one of our neighbors on the street below shout to someone that it was the hardware store that was burning.

There were a lot of clothes on the clotheslines, and other flammable materials lying around, so I knew I had to stay up there in case some flying burning debris landed up there. I could hear our neighbors next door also preparing for the same thing.

Water hose ready, and clothes brought in to safety, that was when I remembered to bring out my phone and take some pictures. The fire broke out around 7:10, and checking the time stamps of my photos, it had been burning for about 20 minutes when I started taking pictures.

All the flammable materials sold in a typical hardware store were what caused the fire to grow quickly, and I hoped and prayed that nothing burning would be sent flying our way. We had already had a house burn down when I was a young boy, back in 1977, and it was a memory that struck my Mom with great fear. She was palpitating the whole time last night, and getting really panicky.

She was alone at the time our house burned down, while Dad was at work, and my sisters and I were in school. I can only imagine the horror she witnessed, being alone, and trying to grab out to safety whatever she could. That's why she always turns into a nervous wreck whenever there's a fire nearby.

And this isn't the first time that a fire broke out here in our area. In fact, it's the second one that's happened in such close proximity to us. The first one was last month, March 5, at the laundromat on the corner of our street. It is almost the same distance from this one last night, about 50 meters from our apartment.


Video

I was able to record a video, but my phone's camera sucks at low-light recording conditions, so forgive me for the quality. I was a bit nervous too, and trying to keep calm and ready for action. Just in case. It's such a sad sight to see a store that had been serving our area since the mid-80s, just go up in flames like that. And we know the owners too.

The Aftermath

The store is the structure right in the middle of the photo. There really isn't much to see of it from here as what you see is the back of it. I just posted these photos to give you an idea of how close it is to our apartment. The picture below gives a better sense of the distance.

Losing a home or a business to a fire is one of the most devastating experiences that one could ever have in one's life, and although it's something that happened to us in our youth, I thank God my sisters and I weren't around to witness it.

I understand how traumatic it was for our Mom, and it was unfortunate that she had to go through such a terrifying experience by herself, with only our neighbors assisting her before the firemen arrived. I just hope we never have to go through one again.

That said, vigilance is always the key to fire prevention. Here in the Philippines our summers can get so hot that people keep their electric fans running all day, and into the night. Such extended running can overheat the motors, especially if they aren't cleaned and lubricated frequently, making them potential causes of fires.

Other causes are cigarette butts carelessly thrown on a vacant lot littered with piles of dried leaves. Electrical overloading, improperly stored flammable liquids, and kitchen accidents are other common causes. And there have been 5 or 6 fires in our area alone, since the start of summer.


And that's all, folks. I hope you wouldn't have to go through this kind of experience, and especially one that burns down your source of livelihood, or takes away the life or lives of loved ones.

I'm glad I haven't lost a family member or relative yet to such a tragedy, but I have friends who have, and I can only imagine the pain they had gone through, and probably relive whenever they see something like this.

So, take care always, and make sure your household is safe. Thank you for reading, and God Bless!


This blog post was created with eSteem Surfer and GIMP.

Sort:  

Glad you have normal reflexes (to run and secure everything and decide whether you need to help/defend or escape, and then deide afterwards to take photos) rather than idiot ones (start filming straight away) and that you're okay!

I grew up in a military household, and was raised by my maternal grandfather to become a soldier like him. :)

Glad that everyone is safe this time although, yes, losing a business to a fire is no joke too. Sending my prayers and blessings to you all at Philippines, neighbour country.

Thank you for your prayers, and may you be blessed too with safety at all times.

Thank you for your prayers,
And may you be blessed too with
Safety at all times.

                 - kryptik.tigrrr3d


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94