You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Want to Be a Writer, Write

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Great to see you back and pumped! The only thing I would say (and you know its gonna be a little left-field) Is that there is only one word in this piece that really, well, lets say, doesn't do it for me, and that's the 'should's.
If inspiration arises, cool. let it arise and you will find yourself riding that wave. Because ultimately, you's being a ridden.
I don't want to spoil the party in any way, but the inspiration for you to begin writing again, how did you conjure that up? And likewise, the lull, how come that came about.
There is a phantom on the loose. And its fine when he plays ball, but gets a little sticky when that inspiration dries up.
The river flows, it can't be directed. There is only flow, -sit back a go with it - you will anyway.
You remain my inspiration :)

Sort:  

Haha, man you always seem to be there tightening up my words, because sometimes I speak loosely. "Should" is one of those loose words. No one should do anything, like you said life flows. So you're dead on, I shouldn't have used that word because it lines up with there being an idea of the right thing to do, but there is no real right thing, there are just things we are drawn to or spurred to do from inside. Everything else we do we do for approval, which is not what I'm about, I'm about freedom ;)

The reason I took some time off was to digest some of the realizations or teachings I was receiving. I am just finishing that I Am the Word book and plan on lightly rereading it before the next one. It's powerful stuff, one of those books that fell into my lap at the right time.

My reason for writing was that the habits I replaced writing with during my lull were ones that I don't want to keep, writing has always been my outlet to help me understand myself and just for expression. Writing and running when I'm fit, great form of expression. And started picking up the guitar. But my inspiration is always at the keyboard, the thing that keeps me from writing is wondering what to write. I can never figure it out til I start, which is how I like it.

Thanks for the honest comment, you and a few others always keep me on track and tighten up my understanding and wording and I really appreciate it. Much love, hope you've been doing well the past few weeks!

Its all crazy-making stuff really....Liking the guitar/keyboard vibe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91