Does insurance scary you?

in #life6 years ago

image source:Pixabay

How about life insurance?

My wonderful company is the mist of changing insurance companies. Great news, the price of insurance is going up. Either we stay with our current provider and forward the price increase to employees or we change. Lucky the company decided to move on.

The new company has lots of options. Everyone has options. I am currently with a private health company and I might change to my employer next enrolment period. I like my provider, but cheaper means savings and I need lots of savings.

Health, Dental, Vision, I got those down.

Life Insurance, on the other hand, is a first for me.

Previous employers usually paid in full for one of them and the other one was a couple of cents a month. However, now there are so many different types of life insurance. IT feels like 101 ways to die type of insurance.

For example, short term and long term disability are common. In case of various types of illness, very specific types mind you, you could insurance yourself for and receive up to XYZ amount of your salary until retirement age. Then you have to let the government pay you.

Then there is life insurance for time lost, inability to work, which I didn't realize was different than getting a disease that kept you from working. When did we get so technical with it?

Left there feeling a little less alive.

Insurance companies aren't pushy. They say take what you want/need and don't take anything you might not use. Life Insurance people tell you all the ways you could need it if you don't then make lots of very expensive recommendations. So, what now?

No one can predict accidents. Do you view it as walking around with an umbrella to guarantee it won't rain? Or view it as a glass half empty prepare for the worst while you can mindset?

What would you do?

They don't tell you that adult life is expensive even if you live within your means. They don't tell you that when you go to the doctor expensive treatments that prevent you from dying quicker slowly rack up. They also fail to prep you how to select life insurance.

How much insurance do you have? Outside of writing a will, do you consider other types of in case of death coverage, affectionately known as life insurance?

Let me know, love always, kubbyelizabeth!

737FD84D-4A79-49DB-B1C7-C3D4FA6690C0.jpeg

Sort:  

Kubby, unless you have dependents and/or a mortgage, life insurance is a waste of money. You don't need it.

I have no insurance at all. I buy travel insurance when I go somewhere (especially the US) but that's it.

My sound of reason, your right!

Yes, it scares me.

Let’s not fear the unknown together. We have jesus on our side!

I like Jesus, cool! Let's get insurance.

Yep I don’t have any so I try and not to think about it too much. Cost to much for my kind of life lol.

So many loopholes and reason they won’t payout a policy. Not to mention all those special cases of having need extra for this or that.

Granted you are a bit of a traveler and adventure so having some sounds like a great idea.

It’s true, some of these insurances cover travelers and that was something that was swaying me take it.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85