When looking leads to seeing.

in #life6 years ago

I prefer it.

Preference or the lack thereof comes about from experience. It starts with a big idea or a dream. Owning a car, winning the CrossFit games, traveling the world, and whatever else comes to mine. We see it, we want it, and eventually, we start working towards it. It is in that process that we develop or form preference or realize our lack thereof.

Take cars for example. I don’t care for them and think they are extremely high maintenance. This is most evident when I am purchasing a car. I have a set of musts such as a white exterior or a light color at least, must have Bluetooth, and the vehicle can go an extra mile without fuel. I also prefer the car to go from zero to fifth without any delay, but that's minor details. These are preferences to what kind. Of course, budget and funds will determine the ability to have these preferences and how often does that price determine rather we really want these preference or not?

Do you have a preference for color, equipment, need for additional space?

I wasn’t very picky when purchasing a car. I had one non-negotiable, which was my price. I was specific with color, make, and model too. Over time the price was more favorable for a light green car, a newer model, than a white one. It was a simple game of waiting and not giving in. My car was giving out on me, so I didn't have too much time to search, but I eventually found one that fit my overall preference. Then I started to think about buying a home. Something to call my own. However, I didn't want to fall in love with the first one I purchased, but I did start to get a feel for what I prefer.

I didn’t think bedroom location would play a factor.

When you walk into a home, do you notice if it’s the living room or hallway? How about if the bathroom is connected to the bedroom or separated? Shower or bathtub? Washer, dryer, and dishwasher inside or none at all? Baseboard, wall color, AC lifespan, flooring, monthly association fee, and driveway space are details that have started to stick out to me. I never thought, so many details would become important to me. Yet here I am looking at house number eight and waiting to see if the price will match my preference.

How about you?

Are you picky about certain things and if so what? Do you start to have a preference depending on price? Does one affect the other?

Image Source: Pixabay

Sort:  

I like to think I'm pretty frugal. I don't like to spend more money on something than I need to.

what do you mean by need too, can you give me an example?

Things like groceries. I could care less about "name brand" foods that taste the same as more affordable options. Except peanut butter. There's no skimping on the Jif...

I’m a massive tight arse so I look for value for money rather than price or brand etc.
I’d prefer to pay more for something but have it last 3 times as long and bring the average Total Cost of Life of that product down.

I hated house hunting it was horrible. And building this house wasn’t much better

Posted using Partiko iOS

Building a house sounds good in theory, but it is never that simple.

Building a house sounds
Good in theory, but it is
Never that simple.

                 - kubbyelizabeth


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @kubbyelizabeth! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05