When the book comes alive.

in #life5 years ago


Image source: Pixabay

Lost in the times

Lost between the writers words. With each line, reality blurs with imagination. I roll over, book in hand, eyes heavy, and a glimpse of the clock strikes midnight again.

Am I really here, again?

This book, this love story, these battles of honor, and these characters are all words that consume me. Like a new show, each episode captivates my curiosity and lesson my patience. Craving more each hour, each new chapter keeps my attention and steals my sleep. All the excitement of evolving characters while dreading the eventivable ending soon coming.

Reminds me of school days

Takes me back to history class, back to meaningless fact sheets that now come alive with each new chapter. History and literature should be taught together. Before these stories, those stories held less meaning. There shouldn't be any surprises, yet each war fought won or lost took the reader on an emotional journey. We know the ending, but thrive on drama. These century old battles aren't new, but like a rerun, I am a new fan wanting no one to ruin the ending. So, don't tell me if they make it. I'm on the third book and will know soon enough.

Then the alarm rings.

The alarm to go to sleep. One more chapter leads to three. Alarm goes off, I shouldn't have read those extra sic chapters.

I just had to know!

Coffee in hand and 15 minutes to spare, why not start a chapter before heading to work. Just ONE chapter later and the clock doubles ahead. To avoid further delay, the book is kept at home under the to do list. Work without distraction, complete the task first, then and only then do you start reading again.

Have you heard of Redeeming Love, by Francine Rivers?

That is what she is best known for. A great read. She has a few series, and I am currently reading through The Mark of the Lion series. What are you currently reading? Have you read a book and loved it, but didn't care for the authors other body of work? Have you read a book and just loved the authors writing and storytelling style? For me, this author is the later.

I'm hooked, I'm sleepy, I'm loving each story.


Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,

Sort:  

I'll check it out. I won't mi d being hooked to an amazing read at this point

What type of books do you enjoy readying?

Never heard of it. I can somewhat relate to the opening as I seem to always be dragging my time into late at night. I have certainly lost time not quite sure where it ran off to. Thankfully don't have an alarm clock it would be remining me I stay up way to late again and need wake up lol.

Have a great weekend :)

Hopefully with the time change you’ll find more sleep instead of less.

That is exactly how I feel whenever I really get into a book, be it fiction or nonfiction. Bedtimes get pushed back, and my Kindle goes in my pocket to steal my attention whenever I have a few free moments.

My sister in law reads four to five books a week with kindle on her phone. How many do you read weekly?

That's a lot of books! I don't get through nearly so many. When I find a book that sucks me in, I can finish it in a few days, but I don't really get into books often just because I don't make time to checkout new books often. I have been trying to read more lately to change that. Your sister-in-law is doing it right!

Congratulations @kubbyelizabeth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94