Character

in #life5 years ago

Robin McKinley said "write what you want to read." Now, I've heard many versions of this quote but McKinley goes on to say that if you are excited to read what you're writing, then your readers will be able to feel the excitement in the work. So if you've really spent time on a character, and you love that character, then your readers will, too.

I'm not saying that your characters need be kind and sweet and first picked in gym class. What I'm talking about is that fullness. For instance, when you're creating a character, you don't want to just paint a portrait, you want to create a sculpture. As a reader, I love those honestly imperfect characters. These are the ones with slanted haircuts and questionable moral tendencies, the ones who worry about their children and lie to keep their friends happy. Some of my favorite characters are strange but still utterly human (unless they're not meant to be human at all.)

I think the most basic thing we ask for when writing our characters is that they seem real. Once they're real, we want them to want something. Once they want something, we want them to do what they need to do to get what they want. Then, we ask do their actions make sense? I think this is a good progression if you want to write a story. But what if you want to write a good story? I think the number one thing to do if you're trying to bump that story from “just a story” to a good story is to take a look at your characters.

Think about it, there are very few plots in the world. Some people argue there are only really seven plots in existence. Some say there are thirty six, some say three. Either way, they all say that plots are limited and that every story is a variation on one of these few plotlines. Characters, however, are infinite. Characters are also the vehicles for plot, in my opinion. If your reader doesn't like the look of this vehicle she's not going to go for the ride. Again, I'm not saying that means your characters need to be Ferraris or BMW's, they don't need to be comfortable, flashy or even safe. They just need to be able to move and support your reader's interest.

So that's what I'm working on right now. Well, currently, I'm blogging. But, I'm blogging to give myself some more time to think about how this one, very tricky character is going to reveal herself more to my readers. She's certainly no Lexus, in fact, she's probably a stolen car, hotwired, with some shoddy brakes. Still, I promise, that when I finish this draft, when she pulls up on the curb and asks you to hurry up and get in, you will. I hope.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68