Touching the stars

in #life6 years ago

"If you only do what you can do then you'll never become more than you are"

Sound familiar???

I think so.

I've always had to deal with the belief that I'm not enough and while the psychologists may say I suffer from an inferiority complex, I prefer to disagree. There was this one time when I was moaning and complaining about my lack of talents, skills and absence of everything I needed to be successful when my counselor told me to "challenge the limits".

Unlike what people expected, I didn't jump out of her office with a crazed smile and an unearthly spring in my step for the simple reason that, you couldn't improve what did not exist, so I fell into deep moody silence and she went on counseling.

Later during the session she told me, "the war has to be won inside your head before you bring them to reality, and in your mind you are an unredeemable loser".

For weeks, I pondered on those words and came to the conclusion that I was failing because I wasn't trying. And there's a world of difference between that and meeting one's fall in his trial.

The realization nearly had me eager to leap into life's struggles with expectations of success and victory at every turn, but beneath my senseless hope there was the deeper rooted knowledge that countless others had heard the same speech before me, reached the same realization and made the same resolutions as me.

And countless others have failed miserably.

The train of thought didn't lift my spirits or help my prospects any, and I almost fell into depression over my "bad luck".

Another counseling session, this one shorter and straight to the point left me with this;

"Nothing ventured nothing gained" and I was quick to reply her, "nothing ventured nothing lost, it's a stalemate " . My counselor (God bless her kind heart) smiled and gave me the final lesson that spurred me to action,

" nothing lost eh?? That's why you're still stuck with your insecurities and fears where there should be knowledge and experience, fortune favours the bold and sometimes the foolish but never the cowardly"

It was the last time I needed to go there for advice on how I was wasting my life.

I got off my behind and tried my hands at different things, I'm still learning and fumbling around in search of my niche but I know that even if I don't have a fairytale ending I will take pride in having learnt and satisfaction in trying.

No matter what remember;
If you only do what you can do then you'll never become more than you are.

Screenshot_20171019-173545.png

unnamed.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73