Are there really bad children???

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Children are amazing creatures, they are gifts to humanity. I love children a lot, I personally admire the way they are always able to create their own fun.I mean they can create real fun out of nothing,they have their life simple with absolutely nothing to worry about.

cute-1499916_1280.jpg
Image source

But, we both know that children can go all naughty sometimes that they begin to stretch your patience. Am saying this because I currently live with my cousin and her four year old son. And most times, I have to take care of him because his mum leaves very early in the morning and comes back pretty late. This child can so stretch your patience, to tell you the least; he says things like "are you stupid?"I will beat you now", "Aunt! I want to take my tea now,go and make my tea now!"(without saying please),if he was an adult, may be he would have gotten a bitter taste of me by now...lol!

BeautyPlus_20180510120346_save.jpg
(My Image)My cousin,me and my cousin's son

I can remember vividly when I was growing up, one of the compound we lived in. We had a neighbour that was always chasing her teenage child with a cane round the compound while she screams "you bad child! you will not bring Shame to this family". Her son had a habit of taking people's things. I heard her once say, he took some money from his class teachers bag.

Well, I have been doing some thinking, are there really bad children?I don't think so. There are no bad children. There are only children who put up bad behaviour. Yes, their actions might be naughty or spiteful, but really they are good children. You see, children feel like they own their world and the reason they do naughty things is because they want to learn their boundaries while exploring their world. And in other to find their boundaries, they have to make mistakes.

boy-1730275_1280.jpg
Image Source

With my cousin's son. I have come to learn that children dont know any better and it's the job of their parents/ guardian to teach them what is acceptable and what is not. In teaching them what is acceptable and what is not, the approach really matters, you would send out a bad vibe to the child when you make the child believe that he/she is bad. You cant change a bad child but you can gradually correct a bad behaviour. For my cousin's son, I have gradually been correcting his actions by telling him that it is disrespectful to tell his elder one, are you stupid? I will beat you now and the likes instead of spanking him all the time and tagging him "bad child". And over time,he has been improving, when he unconsciously says those things, I make him apologize and he does.

If you tell a child that he is bad, he will continue with his bad behaviour and it becomes very difficult for you to win the child over. It's better to tell a child "you have been naughty", your behavior has not been good lately", it is something the child can do something about. If you believe the child is good, it becomes easier for you to change the child's behaviour and by doing so, you have won the child over. Really, there are no bad children, only good children who love to explore their world by doing naughty things!

Thanks for reading!

Would love to hear your thoughts on this, I appreciate all your contributions!

IMG-20180208-WA0000.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Parents are the first teacher of a child. And family is the first educational institution. Kids are very good at imitating. How you talk, how you react, they can learn from that quickly.

You did a great job teaching your cousin's son. Thank you @kweenbrand for sharing this :)

Yes. Kids learn by imitating, so we ought to be cautious of what we do around them while grooming them.
Thanks for your contribution. I appreciate it.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Thanks much!

I have never really had a kid brother/sister neither have I been around them for far too long, but I do believe that there are no bad kids around ( I mean, they don't even know what good or bad is just yet). I guess its just their own way of having fun sometimes (being naughty).

You are right! So you are the only child? That's interesting!

No, I am the last child actually. And my siblings have refused to get married or give me a niece/nephew.

Hahaha. Dont worry. Soon they will.

Lol. I hope it happens really soon....

This is SO important Kweenbrand and you nailed it right on the head. There are no bad Children, only children testing their boundaries and whether those boundaries have a no-cross line or not.

Thank you much boss!😁😁
Am happy you are a huge lover of my write-up. I appreciate you for stopping by here and resteeming.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kweenbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89