Create time for people that matter!!!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard your phone ring and it's either your mum, dad, sibling or a close friend and you are really busy doing something, but you keep them on the phone while you simultaneously do what you were doing and attend to their call? In the process, your attention is divided and you give them very shabby response because you are not really into the conversation. Yes, I have been there before, I used to do it a lot. But I want to believe I have changed though.

woman-690036_1280.jpg
Image Source

Most times, it's very easy for us to neglect our loved ones,get too busy for them or take them for granted because may be we feel that no matter what happens, they will always be there for us. But really it does not work that way. Whatever we put into our relationships is what we would get from them. If we want more,we certainly have to put in more.

In some other cases, our loved ones crosses our mind too, but fail to reach out to them because we want them to reach out to us first. I can remember when I used to patiently wait for my dad to call me on phone, but he wouldn't, and I wouldn't call him either because I expected him to be the first to call, afterall I am his daughter. Little did I know that calling on phone was not just his thing and how wrong I was not to have put a call through first. This does not mean that he is totally right, even if calling on phone is not his thing, he has to learn to make it his thing at least for his children. However, 'one' must take a decision to be the first to extend a hand of friendship.Much later in life, I decided to be that 'one' and me and my Dad get along better now.

waiting-410328_1280.jpg
Image Source

No matter how busy your life is, no matter what your excuse could be, creating time for your loved ones is what you have to deliberately and consciously do. They are called "loved ones" because they love you and you love them. The only way you can repay them for their love is by showing them that you love them and one of the best ways to show that you love them is to give them your time and attention. And this is something you have to do with all happiness and enthusiasm.

Spend time with your kids, dont go all "daddy is busy" all the time. And if you must spend time with them, don't try to do something else alongside, your kids are watching and they will sure feel bad if you do.

call-15924_1280.jpg
Image source

When your phone rings and it's mummy, daddy, sibling, close friend or any other loved one and you are really busy. It's either you ask them to call you back or you put down everything and give them your full attention.

Always try to keep in touch with your loved ones, don't wait for them to call you first, call them first! If both parties are waiting for who would reach out first, no one would reach out and the relationship might go sour. One day, they might be gone and you would wished you stayed in touch. So now while you can, why not stay in touch. Never get too busy for people that matter. Create time for them!

Thanks for reading!

IMG-20180208-WA0000.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I'm so guilty of this post. Social media and blockchain technology even made it worse, my relationship with people offline has been messy. I've lost touch with family and friends, and other times I struggle to keep in touch. But most times, I do feel all alone that it hurts!

You don't have to feel alone dear. The little time you get just try to keep in touch and ensure you make it worthwhile.

We often times feel like our loved ones are always there and will always be there, so we take them for granted. I believe we can do better with our relationship with them once we begin to give them that attention that they deserve. Great piece!

You are right. Thanks for stopping by!

You are absolutely right, your writing should call us to reflect on spending more quality time with our loved ones (parents, children, brothers, sisters, friends, husband), this will allow us to be happier and make them happier....
I know that it is not easy, because I myself often feel overwhelmed by the occupations and do not dedicate the quality time my children deserve, and my parents can not give them that quality time because they left long ago.

Thank you!
I understand! However,Quality time here does not mean that you have to spend all your time on them. No matter how little the time you have to spend on your kids is, make it worthwhile and give them all the attention during that time frame. This is the real deal.😀😀

I feel like calling someone right now.

Lol. Pls who is that?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kweenbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I am guilty as charged here 🙈

Hahahaha. There is still time to amend your ways😁😁

Awww. You even summoned @lost-ninja. So much kindness. I feel so loved. Thanks @emjoe.

You have been defended with a 40.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @emjoe.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

To have the awareness to be in the present moment is not easy, but once we started to be aware of our surrounding and enjoy the moment, that's the greatest satisfying feeling ever.

Great post @kweenbrand!

Thanks for your comment @roselifecoach

Thank you so much for this reminder! At times, our tasks and our time with work consumes us that we forget to spend time to those people who matter. :)

#steemitbloggers

You are welcome. Am glad you found this post worthwhile. Thanks for coming around!

:) Always happy to drop by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67