The Urban Jungle (Limp with me)

in #life6 years ago

I have been recovering from a knee injury a few days ago and it seemed to me that a walk through the Botanical Garden in Bucharest might do some good. Turned out it was too much walking after all, not too mention that all the bending and crouching to get a good picture is a bit hard on the knees! Oh, well...a steemian's got to do what a steemian's got to do!

IMAG2176.jpg

The nice thing about this place is that it's rarely crowded, probably because there's not much to do but walk or maybe sit under a tree and read, but who has time to waste on that anymore? Just nature – in the middle of the city!
Too much nature for some – like my son, not much of an outdoor guy, so he kept complaining we're probably lost in the middle of this 'jungle'!

IMAG2124.jpg
Young boy lost in the jungle!

IMAG2094.jpg
Oh, no, he found us!

IMAG2115.jpg

Being quite a big garden, once you're inside you don't hear the busy traffic outside, nobody's rushing anywhere – you get the feeling you've been teleported somewhere else.

IMAG2092.jpg

IMAG2174.jpg

The frantic rhythms of the world left behind, we can take it slow – like this little turtle colony enjoying the sun on the pond. I did appreciate that as later on in a different part of the garden I found another turtle – swimming. Imagine trying to take a picture of a turtle swimming away in murky water!

IMAG2086.jpg

IMAG2171.jpg

They even had a souvenirs stand, but there's no way I was going to pay almost $20 for a little pot, no matter how cute!
IMAG2153.jpg

After limping home, we're back in the asphalt jungle, which we consider our safe space - with our computers and our beloved wi-fi! All's well in the world again!

Thanks for reading!

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

Hope the knee gets better soon. Do you ever feed the turtles? Before they had to drain one of the nearby lakes here, they had signs up not to feed the ducks but they said nothing about the turtles. So I would feed the ducks and the turtles. No one ever confronted me but I was prepared to use the feeding the turtles excuse.

They were cool to watch, swimming from across the lake towards you in hopes of being fed. My mom owned one for years and I was surprised watching how they love setting up their routines.

I wouldn't know what to feed them :)

They love bread. Not sure how much they are poisoning your food like here in the U.S., but I make sure I only buy the expensive organic bread without the high fructose sugar in it. (reminds me of the old mafia protection racket where you pay them a premium not to mess you up)

They also love lettuce. That's what we usually fed my moms turtle.

beautiful place, it was a great idea that you went out for a walk in the garden, since nature is too tranquilizing it serves as a relaxing shock

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T16:46:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

My cousin sister's name is Rebecca..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82