Don't let anyone force you to do what they think is write for you

in #life5 years ago

In my junior class , there were people we looked up to for exotic gist...like those who tell us that the principal was sleeping with our class teacher.
In my case, I was passionately told that snakes defaecate gold. And sadly, I believed it until I began telling people in my new junior secondary school and I was made a laughing stock.
IMG_4539.JPG
That was the first time someone called me a nincompoop. It was my life's greatest sub!

Then, I got to senior secondary school and because I could speak good English, people said I'd be better as an art student in English,philosophy or law. I believed it until I discussed it with some teachers only to realize they didn't think being grammatically sound was the sole criteria for studying Art subjects.

Then I got on facebook and folks kept screaming I should get a blogsite open because my posts have a modest following. People swore they'd love it and keep reading my blog if I opened one. I did open one and after the first launch post, the readership numbers were a dud! Those who promised to read and comment disappeared into the internet's thin air.

So I learned.

Don't let people push you into doing something that fits into an idea they see about you, but you don't.

"Oh you sing so well,I think you should be a music director!" Don't go and open a studio because of that.

"You preach so well, you should open a church" Don't try it! Pastoring is a lot more than good preaching.

"You are so beautiful, you should try modelling" You'd be shocked that beauty isn't the only criteria for modelling and those who admire your beauty will suddenly not have credit or data to vote for you when you need them most

Sometimes, what these well meaning people see is not bad, it is just half the picture about you. There's the other half you should know and make decisions on.

Good Opinions of you with half the picture are potentially dangerous. They wanted Jesus to be king of the Jews and that was powerful and princely. But Jesus saw the other half of the picture. It was not his purpose to be merely the Jews' symbol of power but to be the power unto ALL who believe in Him.

Had he conceded to being an earthly king, those who crowned him would have left him afterwards, either in policy disagreement or in death.

Don't let people push you with their swollen ideas of you!

They see half the picture. You shouldn't!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59