How To Comfort Someone Who Is Mourning. What Helped Me When I Lost My Sister.

in #life6 years ago

IMG_5929.PNG

Have you ever wondered how to comfort someone who is mourning?

Perhaps a friend or acquaintance had someone close to them pass away, and maybe you're wondering what you should do?

I'm a pastor.

As a pastor, I've been on one side of these dozens of times. I've officiated in quite a lot of funerals. I've been in people's homes and have been with many who are mourning. But, for the first time, I was on the receiving end of being comforted.

You see, my sister died a month ago. Maybe I'll go into details about that at a future time, but for now, I want to share what it was like for me, and how I found myself reacting to people reaching out.

I'll also share what the most meaningful form of someone reaching out was.

1. A Message Online

In this fast-paced digital world that we live in, it seems like the easiest thing to do is to send a quick message on Facebook or other social media. A few days after my sister passed away, word started to get out and people were starting to contact me. So I figured the easiest thing to do would be to post something public on Facebook.

I've never received so many comments on a post before. It was meaningful to me. Honestly, I still haven't read all of the messages. I couldn't bring myself to do that.

So is reaching out to someone on social media helpful? Sure. But, if they're special to you, you should do more.

2. Text Messages

For those that were closer and had my cell number, some sent text messages. Those were appreciated as well, for sure. But, I confess, that there's something about the quickness with which a text or Facebook message can be sent, that it somehow felt a little disposable. Cheap. Not that I didn't appreciate them messages. It's just that for some people, I expected more.

I suppose in some ways it can reveal how much people care.

3. Phone call

If the person is far from you, do the Facebook or text message, but then also try to call. Honestly, in the first few days after my sister died, I didn't want to speak to anyone. A few people tried calling once. But one person, my senior pastor, kept texting and calling me. He never stopped trying. So when I had a moment, about two days after my sister died and I saw him calling again, I picked up the phone.

He was communicating his love and care for me in his attempts and when I heard his voice, I broke down on the phone. Even now as I'm writing this, I'm feeling the emotions all over again. I'm in my thirties. He's in his sixties. He could be my father. And I was so grateful that he went through the effort to reach me.

So, if you can, call the person.

A Brief Interlude

I know what you're thinking. But what should I say? That's the reason most people don't reach out. They're not sure what to say. They think there's some magical thing that they're supposed to say or not to say, and because they're not sure what it is, they don't say anything at all.

Let me share this to you as a pastor: it's not about any words that you say, it's about the concern and love you communicate. Period. So don't worry about what to say.

But here are a few things to think about:

—Ask about what happened. That's a logical one. Let the person share the story. If they don't want to share something, they won't. But don't be afraid to ask.

—Tell them that you're sorry this happened.

—The most important part is to listen.

—Don't try to share a justification for what happened. This is the worst thing that well-intentioned people do. They'll say something like, "well, it's all part of God's plan," or "God won't give you more than you can handle," or "it's going to be ok."

When you say things like that, you're minimizing what the other person is feeling. And, in a sense, it's almost like you're shutting them up because you feel uncomfortable with feelings that are being expressed.

When I first heard that my sister was in her last moments, I jumped on a plane and flew down from Michigan to Florida as quickly as I could. My wife and boys joined me 3 days later. The first night that my wife came down, I was crying, mourning, and she kept telling me, "oh, it's going to be ok. We're going to see her again." That sort of thing. She was doing what she thought she's supposed to do. But I remembered feeling a little bothered and I told her so. We're very open with each other.

I told her, I know this isn't your intention, but you saying those things is making me feel like you want me to change the subject. Like you don't want me to cry in front of you.

Which bring me to my next point.

4. Ask About the Person

"Can you tell me about _________?"
"What was he/she like_________?
"What did you love most about ________?"

The person who is mourning wants to remember and talk about their loved one. They don't want to move on. They don't want to change the subject.

Your role is simply to emotionally stand by the person, and if you're able, join the mourning person where they are in that emotional space.

"Yeah, this does seem really unfair..."
"I miss her, too....."
"I remember one time in which....."

Ok, back to the broader post. If you can, send them a message on social media, text them, or call them. If you're really close, and you're able...

5. Visit the person

This one as well as on the phone is where the principles above would come into play. I had left the state, and so friends were not able to come and visit me. But if you're not far away, ask them if you can visit with them. Again, there's nothing in particular that you must say. Just be there with them. Listen to them. Tell them you love them. Give them a hug.

The Most Meaningful Way to Reach Out

All that being said, there was one way that people reached out that was incredibly meaningful to me. The most meaningful of all. It's something that everyone can do, but that people rarely do.

Ready to hear what it is?

6. Send a card

That's right. Messages online take a few seconds. I've appreciated them, but they don't feel as important. But when you get a card in the mail, you see someone's handwriting, you read what they wrote while holding this physical object in your hand, it's incredibly moving. They took time to pick out a card, gather some thoughts on there, find a stamp, put in the mail—all of that communicates that you are special, and it made me feel incredibly special and loved.

As a pastor, I'm keeping that in mind, now. I want to start sending more cards to people. Unfortunately, this has become a lost art. And I think it's because it's such a rarity, that it communicates something extra special.

I even got a card from my dentist! How he found out about what happened, I don't know. We're not friends on Facebook. And he doesn't attend my church. He's not a Christian. But I was so blessed and touched by his thoughfulness, that it makes me even more loyal to continue going to him!

So what about you? Have you had anyone close to you pass away? What was it like for you? What would you add to the list? Let me know in the comments below.

Also, did you find this post helpful? If so, please Upvote, Resteem, and follow me @leaderinsights to receive every future post.

[Image by Kat Smith]

Sort:  
Loading...

When I lost my dad last year, the message that meant the most of me was one from my friends who'd also lost their father. The best thing they said was "Please don't feel like you need to reply to this, we just love you." I so appreciated that they said not to feel the pressure to reply, so much so that they were the only people I did respond to. I received a ton of support during that time, but at times it felt like "God, please make people stop texting me so I can sit here and not think about this for 5 seconds."

Thanks for this meaningful post.

Wow, thanks for this comment. I'm so sorry to hear about your Father. sigh Sometimes life can be pretty hard. How're you doing? I know we've never met, but I sent you a digital hug :)

I hear you on being a little overwhelmed with support as well. That's how I felt when I announced things on Facebook. I think there are over 200 comments on there. I just couldn't bring myself to reading them all. One of the ones I did read, though, was from someone I know who told me that he had lost his brother suddenly a few years ago. In that moment, I felt like someone understood exactly what I was going through, and it made me feel better. And what a beautiful and graceful thing your friends shared. I would certainly add that to the list, because, yes, you do then feel a pressure to respond. Thanks for sharing a piece of your story!

That's always a hard thing to handle. I wouldn't say I know how to handle expressing my condolences or even how to receive them. But I always try to be human and to empathize without being intrusive. Different people process things differently and respond to different type of consolation.

What I personally don't respond well to and really makes angry is people taking the time to proselytize. One shouldn't be trying to sell their religion to people when they are most vulnerable.

I'm vary glad to read that a pastor is not suggesting things like explaining that the person is in heaven and talking about God's plan.

You're right on all counts—people do respond differently. Hopefully, if they are friends of yours, you'll have a sense of the best way, whether through a card, or a phone call, etc.

And thanks for the affirmation. Especially if I know someone is not a Christian, I don't share biblical things. I support the person. I ask them how they're doing. I offer help and support. Thanks for the comment.

That is the kind and human thing to do.

I am sorry to hear about the passing of your sister. I can imagine this must have been a very difficult loss. I will be praying for you as you learn how to live in this new reality. Great thoughts on here, unfortunate that some had to come from first-hand experience..

Thank you. Yeah, it was sudden and dramatic. But I'm so grateful that I was able to fly down quickly and see her and speak with her. She wanted all of her brothers there with her and we were all able to be there. But we will meet again one day. Hallelujah.

Nice post, a pastor will always be a shepherd... And a shepherd must always have the wisdom of God in other to reach out to his flock.

The wisdom of God brings strategies to reach out whether in a city or a village.

God bless

Thank you, my friend. We all need that wisdom, indeed.

I don't know but i get scared about comforting people when they lose a loved one.

I feel that if I keep telling to take heart and be calm, they might end up remembering the deceased and keep crying the more. could this be a wrong move?

I would suggest this is the wrong move, yes. Someone that lost a loved one doesn't want to forget them. They want to remember them. I wouldn't tell them to be calm or even to take heart. The important thing is simply to be with them in their pain. If they're crying, hug them. Above all, your presence, there, with them in their pain, even without saying anything, communicates a tremendous amount. Just love them and support them in their pain :)

thanks for this advice sir

You're very welcome.

This post has received a 0.40 % upvote from @appreciator thanks to: @leaderinsights.

Thank you @leaderinsights for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.56% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-01-11-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

That's great news! Thank you. I'm committed to producing high-quality content; the kind of things that I would like to read and find useful. My critique of Steemit so far is that there is a lot of low-quality poorly-written content. Hopefully, that can begin to change over time.

there will always be a large amount of low quality posts. It is just the nature of the beast. Especially if they are able to take advantage of the system and make money on such posts. But we can continue to support good quality posts and promote them like buildawhale is doing. While bid bots can be viewed negatively, we try to push the good stuff up to the top. Good luck to you on steem. If you have any questions, comments, or just want to say hi please do. I hope to see more greatness from you.

Thanks so much. Appreciate the encouragement and the offer for help. Might take you up on that sometime. Cheers.

Hey, brother, question: what's the deal with the grumpy cat account? I haven't used your service recently because I've been a little afraid of being flagged. He says he wants services to be 3.5 days or less. Any thoughts on that?

You got a 0.37% upvote from @upme requested by: @leaderinsights.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75