My New Side Hustle: Shopping Estate Sales for Profit

in #life6 years ago

estate-sale-haul-aug-2.jpg

A few months ago, the incredible @getonthetrain clued me in to the joys of thrifting at the pay-per-pound Goodwill for items to resell on eBay. I've been doing that for awhile, and it's generated a decent side hustle income for me. (Thanks, @getonthetrain!) But this weekend I decided to up the ante.

I chatted with another friend, Stxs (@acab1312news), a few days ago and he told me he was doing quite well on eBay, too. But his gig is antiques, which he gets from estate sales and auctions. I thought that sounded like a blast, so I thought I'd give it a try. (Thanks, @acab1312news!)

So yesterday, I attended my first two estate sales ever. At the first one, I feel I racked up some pretty good items, but at the second one I didn't buy anything at all. In addition to the things I did buy (which were items I was confident I could sell for a decent profit) there were other things I probably could have or should have purchased, but I felt I didn't know enough about them to be confident they would sell. So before I attend my next estate sale, I'm going to do some research, especially on antique and vintage kitchen wares.

With my limited experience thus far, I think this estate sale tactic will make me more profit than the pay-per-pound technique. This is for a couple of reasons. First, because there are a lot of pros at the pay-per-pound. I see them every time I go, and I think they are snatching up a lot of the good stuff. Secondly, I expect that the items you can find at an estate sale are going to be better items and in better condition, on average. Even though I will pay more for them than I would pay for something similar at the pay-per-pound, I can be pretty sure of walking out with something good on each trip. (That second sale where I didn't buy anything wasn't so much because I didn't find anything I thought I could sell, but more because they had priced things a little high and I was there on the first day of the sale when they were unwilling to discount things yet.) And of course, it's a little easier to spot good stuff at a sale where everything is laid out and organized than in overflowing bins with other shoppers rummaging around beside you and bumping your elbows. So the plan is to start hitting estate sales every weekend, if possible.

Here's my haul from yesterday. I spent $29 total, and I think I can sell all of this stuff for around $150 - $200 on eBay.

Starline Travel Cosmetics Case

estate-sale-haul-cosmetic-case.jpg

This case is in really nice condition. The only thing is, it's missing the key. But I checked on eBay, and several of these have sold for between $30 and $40, with and without the keys. I paid $12.

Vintage Cloth Dinner Napkins

estate-sale-haul-floral-basket-napkins.jpg

estate-sale-haul-red-white-napkins.jpg

estate-sale-haul-white-lace-napkins.jpg

Vintage table linens always sell well on eBay. I learned that over the past few months, as I've found a few items at the pay-per-pound. When it comes to cloth napkins, though, you need to have a set of at least four if you expect it to sell quickly. Sets like these will sell for between $10 and $20. These napkins are in really nice condition, and I would guess that things like this are a common find at estate sales. I paid $2 for each set.

"Space Age Strategy Game" from the Seventies

estate-sale-haul-ploy.jpg

This game jumped out at me. The cover is so cool and kitschy--it looks like Spock, if he had normal ears. All of the pieces are present, which is awesome. The setup of the game reminds me a little of Battleship, but it's got this science fiction feel to it. I expect it to sell for around $20.

Patent Leather Cleaner from the 50s or 60s

estate-sale-haul-patent-leather-cleaner.jpg

Not even used! I took a chance on this, since I wasn't sure it would sell. But according to eBay, several vintage bottles of this stuff have sold in the past couple months for between $8 and $10. And it only cost me 50 cents!

Dodge Belt Buckle

estate-sale-haul-dodge-belt-buckle.jpg

Old metal belt buckles are usually a hit. This one has a Dodge logo, which will make it easy to sell because there are a lot of Dodge enthusiasts out there. I expect this to go for around $50. It cost me $1.

These Weird Caster Things

estate-sale-haul-casters.jpg

I admit it, I only bought this because I'm a sucker for vintage packaging. But it only cost me 50 cents and turns out they do sell sometimes on eBay, for up to $10.

Chantilly Powder Box

estate-sale-haul-powder-box.jpg

Early in my eBay career, I sold an old Almay powder box (that used to belong to my mom) that was similar to this one, for $48! So of course I picked it up. $2 in on this item.

And that's it! I've already picked out two estate sales to check out next weekend. If I find anything good, I'll post about it here on Steemit!

Transparent-scroll-line-.png

Hi, I'm Starr!

I believe all human interactions should be consensual

27583361_10213307884045035_103049414_n.jpg

I love you, Steemit!

Sort:  

I wouldn't click on that link from raydonovan if I were you. BTW nice score! those metal bearing coasters are really cool!

Oh wow! I especially like the PLOY game - and I immediately thought of Spock too. The artist certainly had some inspiration there.

Oh, and yeah, don't just pick one place. Yard sales, estate sales, thrift stores, Craigslist, retail arbitrage, the pay-by-the-pound Goodwill - use ALL the resources to source items from.

Good advice, as always.

You made a good purchase

This appears to be a phishing attempt, as the site it directs you to looks just like the steemit site but with a different domain, and you are immediately asked to log in. I will not be tricked into giving up my keys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50