You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Universe of the Intelligent Microbe--The Biofilm

in #life6 years ago

This is a nice read, and a short summary of biofilms, a topic I find very interesting. You could actually make a whole series about this. Like, you could write about the role of biofilms in the prevention of disease (like in our gut). I think you should have touched a bit more on details. An important aspect in biofilms is the formation of nanotubes that enable communication, as well as exchange of material. Another important aspect is horizontal gene transfer, which in the end makes biofilms to potent for developing antibiotic resistance. I personally am somewhat reluctant using Wikipedia Commons Pictures. I do not understand the language behind the licenses so it would be better to use CC0 pictures. You are probably fine, but it is always best to be 100% sure.
Nice read! Cheers!

Mentor_3.png).png

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the feedback. I came upon biofilms accidentally--sort of like Costerton's tumble into the lake--except with far more modest results. I was actually researching plague, because I had read there was a relatively recent outbreak in Peru (2010). I saw that yersinia pestis forms biofilms--new to me, so I started reading. That's how this blog came about. So much more to learn. I appreciate the leads. I try to be really, really careful about copyright, so I will check out the option you suggest.

Thanks again for that feedback. It is encouraging.

I will withold upvoting with steemSTEM for now, since you aren't directly crediting anybody, just providing a link to a bigger version of the same image. Many or even most wikimedia images asks you credit the original artist/creator which is something important to clarify. Gimme a DM on discord if you feel like changing them =)

I am really grateful for the notice before the 7-day payout. I was tired when I finally posted this. The two pictures that lacked attribution were the first (Snowpatch Spire) and the sixth (Pseudomonas and Staphylococcus). The credits were listed in my notes and were overlooked in the posting. I would have been horrified if I noticed this omission later, when it could no longer be changed. Curation does have an important role. I'm scrupulous (try to be) about copyright. Authors deserve credit, and it's also the law. Two compelling reasons to properly credit images.
Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72