Boulder Foothills Hiking

in #life6 years ago

On a recent vacation I got the chance to do some hiking up in the foothills just outside of Boulder Colorado. It was a really nice day near the end of July 2018 and the sun was shinning but just a little hot as I recall. The grass was a bit thirsty looking.

Here’s a view of the mountains just outside of Boulder:

boulderFoothills.jpg
Boulder, CO foothills – click for viewing full screen

There was some Queen Anne’s Lace flowers growing near the start of the trial with an interesting looking bug on them. I’ve read that this plant is what the modern carrot was made from.

queenAnnesLace.jpg
Queen Anne’s Lace – click for viewing full screen

Also along the trail was growing some wild Chicory. This is an interesting plant that I’ve heard you can make tea and other things from. I’d look it up on the web if your interested, I have no personal experience with eating it but I do think it looks nice along the trail.

queenAnnesLace.jpg
Wild Chicory – click for viewing full screen

Hiking along I noted way off in the distance some odd colored material that looked like a person. It wasn’t moving at all so I couldn't quite be sure what it was. As I was getting closer it started to look more and more like a man.

As I got closer to the gate I discovered that it really was a man but he was not moving at all and his head was slumped down on his chest. He was dressed in some kind of guard outfit sitting on a chair by the gate. I thought to myself, “Either he had a really rough night and is sleeping on the job or someone shot him.” Not wanting any trouble and not knowing much about the locals, I decided to turn around and walk the other way.

I figured that was better than having him wake up all of sudden and look over at me and shout, “PAPERS please!” lol.

I was feeling a bit guilty about not checking on him as I walked back the other way. “What if he was having a heart attack or needed some medical attention? Perhaps he was passed out in some diabetic coma,” I thought to myself.

I looked back and saw he had moved a little bit so I felt relieved that he was okay. As near as I could figure the city had put him there to prevent people from going down past the gate to bother some nesting birds or something. I guess I would be sleeping too if I had that job, lol.

theGuard.jpg
The guard near the gate – click for viewing full screen

You might need to zoom in a bit to see him in the picture.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+.

Sort:  

Wow wonderful photography. this is great work. mountain is really look.
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a great day.

Amazing photography. Beautiful nature. Nice sharing dear lightsplasher.

@lightsplasher, my favorite photo is the one of the wild chicory. I really like how sharp image contrast and color change between the flower and the background.

Thanks for sharing a bit about your vacation.

Thank you, the camera phone does a nice job on close-up stuff, I'm happy with it.

I upvoted your post.

Thank you.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Mountains always look gorgeous.

I heard they used Chicory as an additive to coffee.

Oh that man out there is sooo weird!!! Is it a military base? I mean what on Earth could he be guarding, and from what??? Seems like the only thing out there would be deer and rabbits lol

I know, very odd isn't it? There is no military base around there, but the uniform was more of a city worker type outfit. I turned around and did not feel like finding out mostly because it was getting to be time to head back anyway. It was a gorgeous hike.

The flower is so clear picture.
Great to see brother. I know u can do special thing always. Love you brother. Listen brother. I am really upset ur not visiting me. I need upvote from you
F99BA3A3-1B27-4529-A6E8-FD64833F8DEF.jpeg

Please don't feel upset, I do try to spreed the votes as best I can. I do like your photography too brother.

Yeah, you would be sleeping if you had that job too, lol. A lesson learnt from you and @longberry's experience. Hearing the bit about carrots having been a different colour for the first time. I had to go Google "modern carrots." It sounded weird.

Boy howdy, I would be sleeping away, particularly in the afternoon.

It is so peaceful there in that part of Colorado @lightsplasher, and it is a good place for hiking or maybe even hunting or trapping some animals for food.

That guard seems to have a boring job guarding the gate LOL. I wonder who hired him though.

I think he was a city worker. There is a lot of open space around the city of Boulder. I think they are supposed to patrol the area to keep people safe or something. (I'm not really sure about it though)

hi, my friend @lightsplasher doing something at the foot of the hill is indeed a very fun and exciting thing, and hiking requires a strong guts, I really like your friends because I really like challenges like mountain climbing, my friend's amazing photography @lightsplasher.

Best photography my senior teacher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95