Helping the Beetle

in #life6 years ago

I was walking along the other day when I saw a beetle on its back with its legs up in the air. All of its legs were going full on and flailing around in every which way. I wondered to myself, “Who the heck designed such an unpractical body? How on earth did the beetle wind up on its back?”

I walked past the beetle thinking that it probably would eventually find a way to turn over. It seemed like if it just tried to open its wings and fly it would be alright. I wasn’t sure if that would occur to the beetle in its present predicament though.

Maybe opening its shell while resting on its back would be harmful to its wings. I don’t know that much about it so I decided to turn around and check if it was still helpless and watch what would happen. I could see it hadn’t made any progress and was still on its back.

I watched for awhile and took a couple pictures.

beetleBack1.jpg
A beetle on its back – click for viewing full screen

Sitting on the hot sidewalk cooking in the sunlight can’t be all that pleasant.

beetleBack2.jpg
A beetle on its back – click for viewing full screen

I figured I better turn it over before Dog-oh stepped on it. The beetle seemed a bit unsteady for a bit then wandered off as beetles do. I saw a really pretty purple and black color on the shell. I’ve heard some beetles are used to create dye to stain cloth, maybe this type could be used for that.

My guess is that the beetle might have glanced off of a car or something and ended up landing on its back but I’m not sure if this one can fly or not.

beetleWalking.jpg
A beetle walking away – click for viewing full screen

It really seemed strange to me that the beetle could not find a way to turn over. When you think about it though, having an almost perfectly flat surface like the sidewalk would not have been a natural occurrence until more modern times.

Lots of things are changing rapidly and lots of bugs are becoming more scarce. I remember much more grasshoppers, crickets and flying insects around when I was younger.

Many scientists agree that these major changes are a big issue. There are many suggestions for how we can improve things. One simple thing I thought about was to improve the construction of our roads and sidewalks. If they were made more porous it would help many things and maybe even help beetles turn over by themselves.

In a way, I think that having a concern for the smallest things will be of big benefit for everyone.

Possible Benefits of Porous Sidewalks

I’m not an expert in this area but just some ideas on what changing sidewalk construction from primarily concrete, to some other porous material could do. Concrete takes a lot of energy to make and we are starting to run out of raw materials like sand to use in the construction of it.

  • Reduce CO2 in the air – Natural weathering and plant growth will eventually reduce the CO2 but it would normally take thousands of years. If materials were used in sidewalk that helped this natural process things might go faster.
  • Improve ground water conditions – Ground water is important for tree growth and irrigation. It is not easily increased and has been pumped down in many areas.
  • Improved flood control – Desert areas and smooth rock surfaces like concrete streets and sidewalks are really prone to flash flooding. Our streets and sidewalks should mimic the conditions in rainforest's for better flood control.

Just a few ideas that I came up with. Like anything else I’m sure there are things I’m not considering. Different sidewalk construction might be more costly and require more maintenance. Access maybe more difficult for people with disabilities. The decision about it is out of the control of most people.

I do think that we are going to see many improvements and changes like this over the next decade. Many of our current buildings and cities are being destroyed by changing weather conditions, rising sea levels, hurricanes, and earthquakes and it would be a good thing to try to plan around the best way to reconstruct them imho.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 10/14/2018 lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

Great photos @lightsplasher and you made a good introduction to discuss the problem of sidewalks, this is a necessary thing. Well done!

An amazing story with a beetle @lightsplasher and it is very interesting on your photos. You did well to pay our attention to the condition of roads and sidewalks, now it is very important!

Thank you. There are many things right now that could be paid attention to. Fun stuff.

Excellent review, my friend and beautiful photos. You are right, porous pavements in our world are now the optimal solution, both for people and for nature! Thank you @lightsplasher

Thank you. I sure think we need to do something to help out the situation. Hopefully if enough things are changed many of the issues will be fixed.

Yes I feel emphatic too when I see a beetle on its back but eventually it will get on its feet again with the help of its six limbs.

The world is changing and maybe in the future we can only see food animals while others get extinct.

We might also see an innovation on how they control flooding and such urban-related problems but I think it will only happen in the future. @lightsplasher

Sometimes it feels like things are slow to change. From my understanding though there will need to be a very fast change in the way things are done in the next decade or so. I think this is very possible when you think about how fast things went from the horse and buggy days to cars zipping all over the place in one decade.

Yes, There is even a rumor that AI could take over the world.

Doubtful if you ask me. From what I have seen AI is more like an advanced multivariate statistical design experiment on steroids. Garbage in -> garbage out. Intelligence is over rated in terms of 'taking over the world' imho. To do that I think you need some maniacal component and it takes some human frailties to do that. Beside what on earth would AI do with 'the world' anyway? lol.

Personally I wouldn't mind being ruled by some non self-serving neutral algorithmic process. It might be a cut above some of the corruption we see in some places nowadays.

Very nice and very interesting my dear @lightsplasher

Galaxy S9+ is the best for make smrtphone photography☺

Beetle pictures are nice. Your s9+ is great.
Love your all photography boss.
How are you. Hope you okay. Bro if you feel free visit.
I need some contributions

I love how you've captured the flow of your thoughts @lightsplasher ~ From seeing a beetle on it's back to the whole philosophy of whether we need to help nature and if so what is the best way to do that.

On some of the pathways of our local golf course there are strips in the middle that are quite spongy. They look and feel synthetic but are lovely and soft to walk on. The things they do to make walking easier for the golfers 🌀

But maybe they also thought of all the bees that might land on their backs in reaction to all the weedicides they're spraying to make the greens more 'perfect.' ⚖️

Thank you for your input.

Our search for perfection does have its costs. In many ways the answers are not fully apparent. I think each of us has a bit of input that can shape things in a way that benefits nature if we open up our awareness to everything we see each day.

I feel sorry for seeing this cockroach in a tumbled position, but like I see this cockroach like it's just finished fighting.

Good morning dear friends @lightsplasher

yes, dear friend, but here it's already started noon ,, LoL (kidding)😊

Excellent writing experience and best photography . so great work sir.
@lightsplasher
Have a nice day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65