Rifle Falls

in #life6 years ago

Near the end of July we did some camping at Rifle Gap State Park in Colorado. It is one of my favorite camping areas because of the really nice falls nearby. There is a less established campground very close to the falls, but the bigger campground has full hookups for electric power and everything.

rifleFalls.jpg
Rifle Falls – click for viewing full screen

One of the really fun things is the sunset around here. It is just wonderful to be out enjoying it. You can almost see our little Jayco A-Frame camper, we call “Blue Jay” if you look hard enough.

rifleFallsCamp.jpg
Sunset view at Riffle Gap State Park – click for viewing full screen

When the clouds part and the sun-rays drift down through them it makes me feel nice. There is some really pretty country around here.

rifleFallsClouds.jpg
Riffle Falls Clouds – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a better view of the “Blue Jay” camper and the tow vehicle. It was kind of nestled in-between some giant campers called “Raptor”. It seemed kind of fitting somehow. Some of those triple axle Raptor trailers had a garage on the back you could almost fit the “Blue Jay” into.

I’m glad I downsized my trailer, but I can see the attraction of having a bigger one.

The air-conditioning on the “Blue Jay” didn’t hold up to the hot Colorado weather. It must have been like a million degrees warm and there was something extremely hot up in the sky you don’t normally see in the Pacific Northwest, LOL. Usually the air-conditioning works just fine but there was no way it was able to keep up with the EXTREEM HEAT in Colorado. (Note to self – maybe one should rethink camping locations in July or have the air-conditioning unit checked)

We had a great time anyway but you just couldn’t stay inside the camper during the day. Luckily our friend had one of those bigger RV trailers with a high power air-conditioner. We stayed in there and also hiked around down by the falls.

rifleFallsBluejay.jpg
The campsite at Rifle Falls – click for viewing full screen

The falls have some very nice mist coming off of them and some really cool water in the stream running nearby. There is a loop trail that goes around behind the falls and visits several caves. These caves are cooler inside. Wading in the stream is a lot of fun too on a hot day.

rifleFallsCave.jpg
The caves at Riffle Falls – click for viewing full screen


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+.

Sort:  

The rifle falls is great. Appreciate your photography.
Brother if u feel free please visit me. I need plenty of your support

The rifle falls is nice, the cave is also but speciality is your photography. Love you dear..try to visit me dude

Beautiful waterfall

Posted using Partiko Android

You have really shared some of your beautiful scenery with us. Thank you and I love your little Blue-Jay! Perfect name for him.

I like the fact that it is compact enough to take everywhere, yet have everything that you need in it. Have you found it very comfortable?

It has really been my favorite camper so far. The layout is nice to relax in and there is plenty of headroom when it is opened up. There are lots of nice places to store stuff too. It tows and parks much easier than the bigger trailer it replaced. Having a toilet is a big plus and it is much easier to deal with emptying the cartridge than dumping out a black tank. Being able to store it in the garage is a big plus too.

I can only see the plusses of having this trailer. I may have to look at one!

I really like it but Jayco only made this type design for one year or so. There are many other manufactures that make nice A-frame type trailers though. The sides are pretty heavy construction which is nice for insulation and keeping the bears out but could be harder to lift than some of the designs. I don't have any trouble lifting them though and the plus is having a nice sturdy lock on the door. The nice big window was really the biggest sell for me. If you see one for sale you should check it out.

I will! Thanks for the awesome review!

Well if they would not mind a water wheel there, you could hook up a bigger AC and run it off the falling water lol. Yeah I bet it was roasting inside the camper! No shade to hid the camper under either!

I love sun rays. I took the boat out last nice and grabbed some...now you inspired me to do a post of them!!

20180917_192337.jpg

I really liked your post on the sun rays that you did. Wonderful photography on that one. Thanks for your support and comments.

Wow..wow, very beautiful phothography dear friend @lightsplasher..♡♡

Wow, it's really nice my friend @lightsplasher, I really like it, I think it's a very exciting trip for friends.

I really like camping and it is fun to share pictures. Thank you.

Thank you my best friends, ho are you

You are welcome. my best friend @lightsplasher

Wow really look photography. it is great . thanks for sharing.
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a great day

Thanks, @goldcoin have a great day too. :)

it's a very beautiful waterfall. This can be a hydroelectric power plant. Natural scenery is still awake. And also a fun recreation area. Thank you for sharing. greetings @lightplasher

Thank you too and greetings back. The waterfall was very beautiful but I'm not sure if there is enough water flow for a hydroelectric plant. The reservoir there looked a little low and I think the water is stored more for later use than power generation.

Even so, the water is very effective and we can make the steering wheel under the waterfall. Thanks .

camping near the river is really fun, because I used to camp near sunga it feels really fun, what's more near a waterfall like where camping friends are very exciting I really like it.

image

I really enjoy camping in different areas. The sound of the river is nice when you camp near it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97