Sleep deprivation

in #life6 years ago

Also known as "not having enough sleep", it is like...a must-have in university life. I mean, everyone has healthy sleeping patterns at home, unless you do play games at midnight or do something else that you should have done during the day (or, something else that you can only do in the night, such as watching World Cup live in Malaysia). The funny part is, almost everyone I know in this university does not sleep properly. Want an example? Just look at the timestamp of this post...yea.

Source here

Normally we just put the blame on assignments and stuff like that, and uh, yeah, some of us (like I do) blame our own discipline too. I slept properly during the first two months, and when my roommate went to some other school I was left alone and that was when things started to get funny. Living alone and no discipline does not match up well, because they just make things horrible. So, you know what it feels like - playing League at midnight, having some improper sleeping timing, exploring things that I should not really explore when I should be sleeping, etc.

Oh, you want to know what things I explored when I should have been sleeping? League of Legends' bugs, Vandiril's vids never fail to make my jaw drop.

Since I actually sleep late frequently enough, I think I can tell some of my stories related to it here...right? Let's go.


So, we all know that I have just did an assignment, and I just submitted it. Don't get too sad because I still have another one to do, but what happened is, the previous assignment somehow managed to break my sleep schedule again like how the others did in the past.

Source

One night, we were working all the way to 2am. I was quite exhausted, but due to most of us not using any blue light filters on our devices (I do anyway, on my phone I have both the software filter and the blue light filtering screen protector), it was quite hard to sleep. The brain loves to imagine strange stuff whenever I'm on the bed, so it took me about one hour before it finally gives up and sleep. I have class at 9am almost every day, so you know what happened. It isn't fun holding the eyelids open for two hours, and after class, I dumped myself into the bed and slept for a good 3 hours.

That's where the problem kicks in.

On that night, we continued to work on that assignment. Because of that 3 hour sleep, I am quite awake during that moment, and it's around 3am before I realize that I am still wide awake during that time. Wow.

The following day, I can confirm that I officially broke my sleep schedule by having that 3 hour nap.


It is good to know something broke, so you can attempt to fix it. I once read that you can fix a broken sleep schedule by resetting your biological clock in a not-so-nice way - make yourself extremely tired in the day, don't nap, and sleep at that time you want to start sleeping. It isn't that cool to use this method - I have to choose a day that has easy subjects (or subjects that I can do well even if I'm not listening), find a way to make the brain tired, then sleep appropriately. Today, the class at afternoon is just a simple revision class that I can do on my own, and I have plenty of time to revise linear algebra which is going to take a lot of brain power. Cool.

Source

Of course, it isn't too good trying to revise something when the brain is tired. Coffee works anyway, it's not like the drink can make me awake for more than two hours...

I am aiming to sleep at somewhere before 1am, so that I can get a good 7 hour sleep before the next class starts. Well, it's about time, so maybe I should just stop here and probably follow up on how it goes during the weekends.

See you next time and sleep tight~

--Lilacse

Sort:  

Sleep deprivation is a problem, specially if you require concentration the following day. it can even be dangerous if you require to drive a vehicle.

Can't agree more, I almost bumped my head onto some poles...luckily I don't need to drive :P

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98