The keyboard legs.

in #life6 years ago

Certain keyboards (or most of them, I'm not sure because I haven't bought a keyboard for ages) have some feet behind them - that helps them to be tilted up in some way. Well, I am using a laptop, so obviously I won't have something like that. But, I have a laptop cooler, which also has similar legs like that. When I extend them, the back side of the laptop gets tilted up, just exactly like what normal keyboard legs do.

Source

I thought that they actually do nothing more than assisting the cooling, but once I extended them, I found out that by having them extended, the palms rest a little better on them. It's probably the tilted surface, I guess.

That was the period of time when I play less osu! and do more League of Legends (I quit that game, it's too hard for me to deal with a rubbish 3rd party game dealer like Garena, they totally ruined the game for SEA). League is a little less torturing on the fingers, especially for what I play - Lulu, Janna, and backline supports like these. It's like casting the skills normally to the correct timing and you win the fight correctly. But when I come back to osu!, the entire feeling is already different - anything that needs speed or certain effort to hit seems to be extra hard to beat. It's like my fingers went numb out of a sudden.

It's not because of "not playing the game for too long", I have went on hiatuses longer than that one, and osu! is a special game in which you might get better by not playing every day. Taking breaks is important, mark my words.

Well, I went and play slower songs and focused on not-so-technical but long duration maps then threw the issue out of my mind. Since well, if it does not hurt, you don't care, right?

Until yesterday, I got bored and did a random search about keyboard legs - hey, they exist for a reason. It's not like "we have extra plastic so we can do legs on them it might look cool" or something like that - manufacturers don't do this. Unless it's a gaming mouse...then probably they do, but it's an office keyboard after all.

Read this.

I thought they were also for ergonomics since my hands feel more comfortable with them. But apparently that isn't the case, and it's the total opposite. Wow. The saying that comfortable things are never too good is true.

So...I did went and move the legs down. It feels a little strange at first, since it genuinely requires me to sit upright in order to use the laptop correctly now (previously it was tilted so I can tweak the screen's angle to see it perfectly no matter what strange posture I use on my chair). But, after getting used to it (again), tapping circles is not that difficult anymore. I don't really catch that sometimes, but the human design is really strange. Apparently clicking on a horizontal surface uses less effort, or the effort is more easily turned into work. I don't know, but I can indeed say that again that human design is strange. Or probably I should say that engineers are smart, if you don't use computers frequently enough, you don't have to worry about ergonomics stuff too much and hence can freely use the letter hint by tilting the keyboard up as stated in the link. Else, you can just put it down since you can type blind like I do.

It never hurts to know more, eh?

Alright, off to have dinner, thanks for reading and see you next time~

--Lilacse

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94