SIMPLIFY YOUR LIFE WITH PREDEFINED PRINCIPLES TODAY

in #life6 years ago

yes-238375__480.jpg
Source

I have been meaning to share this piece with people but somehow I've not had the time to do so. After counselling one of my inner circle of friends about an issue, I felt it was high time I shared this.

A young man had invited her over to his house in the evening to 'iron out' something with her. She felt not a little uncomfortable about this, considering the fact that she knew what the guy was going to ask for and in the evening and in his house for that matter! (it's not sex, mind you). When she messaged me about this, I smiled. Not going was not the problem. The problem was how to do so without getting him hurt, judging from the way he sounded over the phone (that's why I love women. They will always have our interests at heart, even at their peril). And the guy had been calling her every now and then to ask her when she's coming.

Let's pause and glide through the following:

WHAT ARE PRINCIPLES?

Moral rules or aspect. A fundamental assumption or guiding beliefs.

She felt uncomfortable about visiting an already compromised guy (assuming you know what that means) in his house in the evening. That's right. Except for one thing. She couldn't do it out of principle. In other words, THIS DISCOMFORT was likely out of fear and inexperience, not necessarily of principle. I will soon tell you why.

The reason is this: anything for which you already have a principled stance on, you won't think twice before doing/not doing that thing. For instance, you know that to play with fire is extremely dangerous. Anything that connotes with physical fire you will be keen on being careful about them cos fire burns. Fire kills. One of the key reasons why brother A can do a thing without any qualms and brother B would not dare to try the same thing is PRINCIPLE. Have you seen people cheat in the exam hall before? Cheating is wrong. But not everybody holds that as a principle.

Principles are sacred.

You don't argue principles and you don't break or violate principles. Principles help you trigger instant decisions. Anytime you see somebody debating whether or not to do something, know that s/he does not yet have a principle concerning that area. For instance, I am known for my no nonsense stance on the examination malpractice known as impersonation. More than a month ago I bumped into one of my school teachers from 10 years ago. He was so excited and got my number.

Having tasted and confirmed the 'heavy intellectual might' I carried back then, he felt I was the best option for whatever he had in mind to do. At 10.19 pm I got his call. He asked me if I could write the forthcoming WAEC / GCE for somebody. I politely told him no. He was very surprised, even with the mouthwatering 'name your price' bill he had proposed. I told him that I don't do that, that it's against my principle.

Now this is the funny part. After we hung up, it suddenly occurred to me that I was in my most driest season ever, as in, shishiless, not even N5 in my pocket. On top of that, I was owing airtel😢😢.

The only reason I was able to pull through that temptation without thinking twice about my financial menopause was because I had a predefined principle in that particular area.

Now, friends, it's time to simplify living. You wanna simplify your life? Then start now to live on principles. You must come to that point in your life where you just know that this is what you will do/will not do anytime this or that situation presents itself. Many of the confusion young men/women face in their daily lives is because they are stuck with their feelings and minds than with solid principles in every area. And feelings can be swayed easily, I tell you.

Now take note of the following :

  1. Never build principles on feelings.They will fail you.

  2. Never hold principles for which you are not fully persuaded.

  3. Never associate with people whose principles you do not agree with.

  4. Never walk with somebody whose principles you know nothing about. (Remember Amos 3:3?)

  5. When confronted with decisions, don't rush. Be guided by principles.

  6. Never build principles on people's opinions. I feel like saying that again.

Do this and you will about simplify that beautiful life.


My name is Ndianabasi Tom. I am a man of many principles since 2007.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@liltom Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Your post has been upvoted by @steemiansarens trail. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71