What To Do When Your Brake Becomes An Accelerator.

in #life6 years ago

Car-Crash.jpg

I am laughing out loud as I write this.

Do you know anyone learning how to drive a car, with measurable progress...
...and then one day out of the many perfect rides, their leg disagreed with their mind and pressed the accelerator instead of the break?

Gbooo...Gboouuu..

It would be fun to crush an enemy like that, but hey, you'd just hit another car gently parked and you just brought down a 10-year old fence.

Not funny, not at all.

I've had my share of this kind of a tale. Mine was unique! I didn't crash into a fence nor did I break someone's leg.

That time, I was no longer an amateur, yeah, I'd been driving for 3 years. 😁

Mine happened at the market. Ah! I can still see the picture so clearly.

That beautiful afternoon, I'd just finished the periodic servicing of the bus.

With all confidence, I knew I can swirl and twirl through the road.

The engines were back to life, the bus I drove could overtake any Hummer Jeep around the world.

In fact, it was a market day, as I eventually found a parking lot, swerving into this space, the break failed!

Confused and struggling, I kept pressing the accelerator as if by chance it would respond like a break.

No, no magic happened, the accelerator simply did according to its job description.

Okay, long and short, I broke someone's bumper, the pressure of my hit smashed it completely.

The bus I drove and the other car was immediately rushed to the hospital (Yeah, to an auto Mechanic shop).

I was an undergraduate, I had limited time, yet a chunk of responsibilities.

Another visit to the Mechanic meant 'wasting' more time and resources. Well, I paid the price. The mechanic now detected a major fault that could have resulted into a fatal accident.

All I could do was just to bless the bishop of my soul.

My take from that experience is this:

Sometimes, you could break through some fence by pressing the wrong pedals, but pressing the right pedals will save you years of pain.

Whenever you are wrong admit it and quickly ask God to help you out of the crash.

Sometimes, we gain speed in the wrong direction, a sudden full stop can be all you need to start amazing strength for accelerating in the right direction.

What are you grateful for?

#YouAreLimitless

Sort:  

Great post brother, I enjoyed !!

Follow @ziapase

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68