The snowman ☃️

in #life6 years ago

The snowman

image

(Picture source)

Hello my dear friends, It starts to snow in Belgium for a few days. I love the month of December, it starts to snow, the holidays arrive, we decorate the houses, we put beautiful fairy lights outside the houses and on the facades. There are even villages or streets where every year, it is the contest of the one who will have the house best decorated and illuminated, as on this picture for example:

image

(Picture source)

I remember when I was little, on New Year's Eve, before taking dessert and passing midnight, we all went by car and we went to a village not far from home where several streets were illuminated, it was magical and fairy.
Since then, I think back every year when I see Christmas lights. I'm going to talk to you today about my favorite interior and exterior decoration: the snowman.

Of all the Christmas characters, it's my favorite. In my ranking, he is above Santa Claus, reindeer, elves, ...

I love the snowman, he always looks nice and happy. My favorite snowman filmed is of course Olaf in the Snow Queen, he is too comical, I love him. I even bought this year, in addition to a plush and a figurine that I had already received on my birthday rainbow cake (and yes 35 years old but still a child),

image

a luminous Olaf electric, I posted his picture a few days ago when I installed my decorations

https://steemit.com/photography/@lndesta120282/winter-is-coming

I have not yet had the opportunity to make a snowman this year with the kids because they are the first snow and they do not really stand on the ground and when trying to make a ball, it turns into ice .

I hope I can at least make one so that my children can have beautiful memories of the Christmas holidays.

I do not know if it is because of global warming but I remember very well that with the biggest of my brother, every year we made snowmen in the garden, so big that at the end we had to leave it on the spot because we could move the ball so much it was big and heavy, so, the guy could be anywhere in the garden, it depended on the moment when no longer knew moving the first ball that was used as a base, then to put the head was not easy either because the smaller balls were still relatively big.

Then we went back, frozen and wet, we undressed on the doormat in front of the garden gate and we took a hot shower to warm up. We did this regularly during the Christmas holidays and now for a few years, it's a miracle if it snows once or twice a year ...

image

(Picture source)

Origin

We do not know exactly when the snowman appeared. Some say it was invented in England during the 16th century. We find the presence of the snowman in the writings of Shakespeare: "Is it sun assassinated or simple snowman melting under the rays of sun of his rival? ".

It was in the 20th century that the snowman became one of the greatest symbols of Christmas. It is now everywhere, even in countries that do not often have snow. Initially, the snowman was composed of three balls, the smallest was the head. For facial features, at the beginning, we used pieces of coal or pebbles.

Over time, he was given a carrot to make his nose, small balls to form the mouth, big black buttons on the belly and a hat and a scarf. He is even sometimes made arms with small tree branches. There are shades in some countries, for example in Japan, instead of the hat, we put a bucket turned on the head of the snowman.

The snowman at the cinema

The snowman regularly appears in movies, we find in some films like The Snowman (1982), Jack Frost (1998), the Snowman (2017) and in some cartoons like Bouli (1989) and Olaf in the Snow Queen (2013).

Funny snowman

I did some research on the net to show you some original snowmen, here are some pretty nice pictures:

image

image

image

image

image

image

(Picture source)

That's it, I hope this post has you more and that you have learned a little more about snowmen. And you, what is your favorite character in Christmas decorations?

Sort:  

And we still do not have snow (((although it's already past time

a great collection of tha snow art you have made a great things from snow loving one . keep hard word to bring more exciting stuffs

I loved making snowmen as a child in Michigan. Now I live in Australia and there are no chances to make snowmen unless I go to the ski fields in winter

I envy you guys @snooway want to build one but no snow here in Philippines

Very beautiful pictures. In my childhood I also loved to do snowmens. Snow then had a lot and near each house was snowmen. Now it's nice to remember my childhood.

X-mass is the time we are all happy

this post makes want to go to the village and enjoy merry making day

I love the ambiance in December also :) But it ends like all good things. The only think that I am worried about in winter is homeless people. I suppose I am in desperate mood today :)

Wow amazing photography thanks for sharing sir
Resteemed this post now

great collection of snow art you have made a great things from snow this is the best simbol of chritsmas ever...

wow.....fantastic photography.nice cool cool...photo short
thanks @lndesta120282

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80