I got screwed in the Asus...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I dont think theres anything I can do except blow some steam...what better an avenue than to come to my Steemit folks! :)

TLDR; show me the pix: https://imgur.com/a/KjDrN9W

Asus' first line in their warranty is the following:

"ASUS warrants the Product to be free from defects in workmanship and materials for the Warranty Period.

I purchased an All In One Asus ZN241ICUT-14 from Best Buy for my grandma on August 5th 2017. May 4th, I went to my grandma's house as she said that her monitor fell out of the computer and to my surprise, this is exactly what happened.

The glass portion of the monitor fell out of the computer portion retaining only the cabling. Upon further inspection it appeared as though the monitor was only affixed by an adhesive around the edges; no screws, no magnets and no other support. Due to the support that had failed, the glass portion of the monitor fell off the all in one pc stand and as a result, the glass cracked in a few locations.

I submitted a RMA (Return to Manufacture Authorization) to assist with repairing the device after battling and explaining that this occurred due to poor manufacturing. Initially they advised I had to pay for shipping however eventually they said they would pay for shipping but I would have to supply a box. I caved and went to FedEX and paid roughly $40 to ensure packaging was suitable.

I heard nothing until a week later I received a beat up Asus box with an abundance of tape all over it. At this point i figured they fixed it and I arranged to take it to my grandma's house and set it up. Upon opening it at my grandma's house I came to find a paper noting they did not repair the product due to "Customer Induced Damage." I clearly stated on the phone and in the RMA submission form that this was due to poor manufacturing and that the adhesive did not supply ample holding for the screen and as a result it fell from the all in one base shattering on the desk. Note: I will say they did have my email and phone number but unfortunately the emails didnt hit my inbox and they didnt call me.

I then called the company being dropped from the line once, and transferred to 4 different departments where the final outcome was that it would be directed to corporate to come to a decision on how to proceed. The call ended with a assurance that I would be called within 48 hours; that was on a Wednesday and I received an email on Monday.

The email advised the following decision was posed by "our high corporate members:

"It was advised on RMA creation that damage was determined to be physical damage which is not covered under the warranty. We are sorry to advise that there is no free of cost service option."

As noted in the beginning of this complaint, Asus warrants the product to be free from defects in workmanship. The glass shattering was a result of a defect in workmanship that resulted in the glass separating from the fixed all in one shattering on the desk. This is a horrible customer experience and I fully understand this is a unique situation as I'm sure they see "customer induced damage" all the time however this was due to defect.

Sort:  

Congratulations @loudlou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71