[dtube] Why I'm Renting Instead of Buying a House | Renting VS Buying Discussion

in #life6 years ago (edited)


My first video in the new apartment! Thought it would be a great time to discuss why I've made the decision to rent instead of getting a mortgage on a house. Let me know what you think!

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT financial advice. I am just offering my opinions. I am not responsible for any investment decisions that you choose to make.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's actually depend on your financial situation though, if you can afford it, then that's a good investment for long term, but if you can't afford it better rent it. Correct my analogy if i'm wrong, " Delegated power is better than powering up" .

depends on why your on steem. For me its better to power up so that i have more influence and my upvotes worth more making more people attracted to my page.

Can you power up above the 5 they say to leave in.

@louisthomas @cortexx Hello where did you get this information ... we all are here temporary ..... so renting is best option ... so many option to live nad explore life .... i dont want to be at just one place all the time .... life is beautiful ..so best is renting

Sometimes its not about investing, returns or growth.

Its a sense of belonging and that is what a home is. The smell, sounds and feeling stays with you forever.

my saying is "own digital property, rent physical property.

you are a smart man

I don't agree with the people saying renting is better than actually owning a house.
Rent will eventually cost you as much as purchasing a house would.
If you're renting a house for 1k$ a month, and you can purchase a house for 300k$ for example, it's stupid to rent it.

I know people that could buy a hose with their own money + some loan from the bank, and they preferred to rent a house. one of them spent more money on rent than the cost of purchasing a house in 10 years.

If he did purchase a house and did not rent, he would've house right now. but instead, he has nothing.

I don't understand people that can afford to purchase a house but preferring to rent one instead. It's really stupid.

I didn't watch your video because I can't as of right now. but I wanted to comment my thoughts regarding this.
upvoted for visibility and discussion.

I know people who prefer to rent for their mental health. Sometimes owning can be stressful. If something breaks, the repair is coming out of your own wallet. You also worry a lot more about the maintenance of the home when you are owning compared to renting. I personally own and see it as a better finance decision but have dealt with people who prefer not to have the responsibilities and I respect that.

I agree! Too much responsibility and risk involved with buying a house.

Wish I bought at 24. The cost of carry on renting is too high for me.... you can do the math a 1,000 ways and buying always ends up ahead in the long run, and usually in the medium and sometimes in the short terms.

Mortgage literally translated means Death Pledge!

death-pledge1.jpg

Unless you are sure you are going to stay put, and that area has a good economic foundation that will be solid for a long time (which is very hard to gauge) DO NOT BUY! Ownership is more of a pain than anything with constant maintenance etc., and yes, societies have been brainwashed by the banking system into taking out mortgages and locking them down into an area, pay twice the amount in the long run and so on. Your reasons are sound; stick to them.

i have always prefered to buy as long as i could get a low intrest rate and a short term. my current loan is a 15 year at 2.75% its not to bad. my old one was a 30 year at 6.125% . if i would have paid it for 30 years i would have paid for the $130,000 house plus around $145000 in intrest. screw that . i just like buying over renting because i can build equity.

This is a brilliant Idea seriously.
in our era It is better to own on digital world that to own on the physical world. you never know when It will be taken away from you,,, and How much taxes are their as well.

Buying is like marriage...You're a winner...in it for the long haul. If you want to upgrade and give your spouse something even better, you can sell and use the equity, and any appreciation in value, towards a better buy.

Renting is like dating...Maybe you'll stay, maybe not...Not good for investing purposes...as you get zero value on return....just a whole lot of memories...good or not so much.

Thanks for this post!

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86