Music Workshop with Kuya Jake from j2u Boy Band @Dumaguete City

in #life5 years ago

welcomeeeee.jpg

Picture credit to Sir Silorio

Month of Music

It was the the 14th day of February and yes it was Valentines day but as a Grade 12 student we had our exit exam or the BEEA (Basic Education Exit Assessment). As I was done with my exam, Sir Silorio - my Music teacher called me. he said that he wanted me to join the Music Workshop at Dumaguete City tomorrow. I know it was all of a sudden but I know it will be a great opportunity so I agreed. The departure will be tomorrow as well and we have to leave early for we have to travel three hours before reaching the place. As we have arrived, we met a lot of strangers and I assume they're all singers or musicians.

pepol.jpg

Photo credit to Sir Silorio

MUSIC SEMINAR

Nobody knew that the resource speaker would be Kuya Jake. His full name is Dezhnev Jake C. Diaz and yes he is one of the j2u boy band and he was an actor in TV5. Aside from being an actor, he is also a blogger, a dancer, a singer, a model and our very own resource speaker. He was really handsome plus he have a very nice voice. Everyone could sing, but he is a complete package. He told us his past wherein he became a part timer, he worked as a waiter in Jollibee, he sang at the bar at night, and also he sang at weddings as well. During the seminar session, I learned a lot from him.

seminar.jpg

"Music is the language of the soul"

This is one thing that he taught us. Music is the language of the soul. Music comes in different forms and music can be made either by musical instruments, your voice or just by clicking two different things.

During the session, he taught us the different kinds of music genre, the things to consider when performing, how to become the greatest performer and how to sing well in front of a massive spectators. After the session, we had our lunch and it was free! The people in charge of the event prepared the foods and so the foods was great! After lunch, the session continued but this time, Kuya Jake grouped us into five groups. I was in group one and when we sat according to our groups, I know no one in the table. They're all unfamiliar and I'm starting to feel anxious.

me table.jpg

Picture Credit to Sir Silorio

I was at the very top table and I was wearing a gray T-shirt next to a girl wearing a checkered T-shirt.

Kuya Jake gave us an activity where in we should make our own show and we should show case our talents. He actually gave us some options like;

Concert

Talk show

Variety Show

Choir

Theater

Eventually, after so many options my group decided to have a Variety show. My role there is to sing, and I helped on thinking some advertisements as well. I was not quite aware that I was the oldest among the group because they all seemed to be matured and we disciplined. Since we are the first group, we presented our ideas first and then when all the groups finished presented all our ideas, Kuya Jake mentored each group one by one. He gave us some tips on how to perform well, he gave us some suggestions regarding on our performance and he also coached us one by one on our vocal quality. After that, it was the second group's turn and we had to exit the hall so we could practice outside.

As the session finished, Kuya Jake told us that we shall perform tomorrow at 1pm since it was a two-day seminar. Before going to Sir Silorio's place (we'll be staying there for the night) we took a groufie with Kuya Jake of course hahaha XD (see picture below)

kuyaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.jpg

Picture credit to Sir Silorio

I was wearing gray hahaha XD

Since I don't have much time, I practiced my piece. I'm going to sing Little Do You Know and I decided to play the guitar while singing. And I practiced at Sir Silorio's palce together with Jezrah, Sherifil and Hemer. Aside from practicing my song, Sir Silorio said we'll perform tomorrow and so we practiced two more songs. The "Your Love" and "Tuloy pa rin". We practiced to the max to the extent that we did not noticed the time and so eventually we slept by 1am.

Then Morning came and good thing we didn't come late at the venue. In the morning, had our polishing and final coaching. Then in the afternoon after lunch, that's where the performance started. Kuya Jake announced that they will be giving certain prizes to the best performers among the five groups. I was really nervous, I know it's bad to assume but I just really wished our group would win. The performance finally started and yes, all of us were nervous but we did not made it obvious, we still did our best. And eventually it was my turn, darn it the sound system kind of had an error so the guitar didn't go well as expected but I did not stopped singing, I continued singing till the last. I was really hoping we'd won but now that my performance was a total failure, I lost hoped :<

Eventually all groups performed well, and then it has come to the time where Kuya Jake will announce the winner. And guess what? Our group actually won! We won! We didn't expect it and all my groupmates were jumping up and down out of happiness and then we hugged one another. After annoucing the winner, it was our time to perform our surprise song. Together with Sir Silorio, Jezrah, Sherifil and Hemer, we sang in front of everyone. And thank God it was a success.

wonn.jpg

Picture Credit to Syron

Unexpected Victory XD

Just after the session, they gave us some certificates of appreciation, and we received some prices (the green bag as shown on the picture above) we get to know a lot of people thanks to that workshop plus I also learned a lot, and even had an opportunity to perform and win. After that we also had a final groufieeeee...

;sdt.jpg

Picture credit to Syron

I was at the very back wearing black XD

It was really fun and amazing and I wish I could bring back the time. But everything has it's end and unfortunately it was my time to go home - to Mabinay. But the seminar was all worth it and I will never ever forget it. Plus I get to meet Kuya Jake and may we see each other again in the upcoming music camp this coming April.

MUSIC is the language of the soul <3

Sort:  

Hello @lucyheartfilla! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @lucyheartfilla! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56