ENSLAVED BY THE ENEMY

in #life6 years ago

chains-19176_1280.jpg

pixabay

"Grrr. I want to kill him!"
Have you ever felt this before? I have. Many times! This hatred was directed towards the person to whom I entrusted my heart and future but got anguish and a dysfunctional family life instead. Anger consumed me. In questioning my fate, I, in turn, lost my faith.

In due time, God's loving presence jolted me out of my enslavement. His Words moved me to embark on what seemed to be the unthinkable journey of forgiveness. More difficult for me was reaching out and pursuing genuine acts of kindness despite being scoffed at and perceived as hypocritical each time. Tumultuous as it was, i learned to lift it up to God and let go.

My rewards? Peace of mind, my character and I got my faith back!

We are still estranged but in forgiving him, forgiveness to others became second nature to me. As for loving? That will follow.

It's hard to look past hurt. But it's even harder not to take revenge and forgive. But with God, everything is possible.

"Release our hearts from the bondage of anger, O God."

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lydamaxine from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67