My open letter

in #life6 years ago (edited)


As I sit and type what I have held back for 13 years my eyes still swell with tears. Holding back the tears not because I'm sad, but because I realize I'm angry. You don't get to miss out on the most important moments in my life and not think I wouldn't be upset. I didn't even have a wedding because the thought of you not being in the front row with that shiny gold hair just seemed unbearable. You should have been the one relaxing my hair for prom and helping us look for a dress. You should have been here to see me walk across that stage and get my diploma, but you weren't.... and I'm angry! You were the voice of reason when my parents wouldn't listen; always there to step right on in and go to my defense. Now, I'm left to fight these battles alone even as an adult when they just don't get it... and I'm angry! I had 5 kids every pregnancy different, but one feeling with every one of them just the same. The feeling of knowing you wouldn't be here and they'd never get a chance to meet you... I'm angry! I'm angry because when you left, our family fell apart and we haven't quite been able to pull it back together since. I'm angry during the holidays because I have to pull out a recipe book and it's not yours because you never got around to sharing recipes that should have been passed down. YOU. WERE. MY. PERSON. The only one who ever truly understood me. We had the same passion which became discussed goals and dreams for my future. I'm angry because the truth is if you were here my life would be diff. from what it is now, just out of the fear I had of doing the wrong thing and somehow disappointing you. YOU'RE NOT HERE AND IM ANGRY! The one man I counted on most to make it all go away and fix it let me down. The man you devoted your every hour to and I don't mean grandpa. Why would this man take you from me... Damn, I'm angry! I couldn't understand how you could praise someone who would do something so evil, like LET YOU DIE! That's right.. see I'm not angry at you, but I'm angry at God. I turned away from the church 2 years ago because in some of the most trivial times in my life I didn't feel like he has been there only beginning with you. There have been other things and other people he has taken from me since then, but none compare to the day I lost you. You see my whole life changed the morning of Feb. 15th at 3 am and I know how, but I can't figure out why? Why would he take you from me when I still had my whole life ahead of me and needed you? How could a man who said he would never leave me nor forsake me have done just that and why always in my darkest hour does it feel he never shows up? The least he could have done was left you here for me... I'm angry! Why so late in life did it take me to become so filled with anger and at times rage? Why can't i ever seem to fill this void I have been feeling since I was 16? I mean sure my dad's mom is still alive, but we both know she will never come close to the woman you were to me. You raised one amazing woman and she has been there and has helped fill a little bit of that void, but even she has weak moments and cry's out for you. I don't know how to not be angry with God for me or for her. I want so badly to forgive and to not be angry, but I have still have so many unanswered questions that keep me from doing so. I guess Ill just keep telling myself to "Live through it" until my questions are answered... if they are ever answered. Know I love you now, I loved you then and I'll love you always.

Forever and ever,
Lyndzay

R.I.P. to my angel 
Martha Kent
02/15/2005
Sort:  

It’s almost 13 years and it seems like yesterday! I still wake up at 3:45 am thinking is it real, are you really gone! I then breathe and exhale, look toward My bedroom door and realize you’ll never come back only in my memory. I raised my family to LOVE you so much that when the day of devastation came for ME, I feel as no one was their for ME. For everyone was grieving in their own way in missing you, I don’t think they stopped to realize I LOST MY MOTHER as their was standing in front of them. The phenomenal women that was my cheer leader, confidant, encourager, someone who could say well done daughter and show with that dimple smile how proud you where of me. Now I’m left to raise a family that has been torn to shreds. And yet I rise each day trying to feel your shoes, as a Mother, Nana, Daughter, Sister and Friend and it still seems hopeless at times. Unanswered questions will go unanswered, weddings, graduations, births, death, adventures, and everyday issues will still happen and we’ll all be left alone to fill whatever voids you’ve left. Am I angry at God for loving you so much that he called you Home? I use to be, but as I prayed and asked WHY, I changed that mindset to thank you LORD for the quality time Mom and I shared, secrets we’ll both take to the grave, for all the LOVE shared, for giving me a Mother that I’m so proud to work on filling her shoes. RIP dear Angel Mom (Martha) for one day I’ll see you again soon, but for now your pictures and memories will have to do. Miss you and love you with ALL my heart. #2

love you mommy!

You got a 1.78% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lyndzeegram07! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received gratitude of 0.74 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lyndzeegram07.

This post has received a 14.29 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @lyndzeegram07.

Thank you @lyndzeegram07 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 2.89% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You got a 6.10% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @lyndzeegram07!

Congratulations @lyndzeegram07! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73