You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Balloon Chaser

in #life6 years ago

These are beautiful shots Glen! I LOVE that you jumped in the car to follow it as well, but especially that you had one of those realizations that everything is exactly the way it's supposed to be :)

I'm submitting this beauty to c-squared too!

Sort:  

Well, thank you very much for the submission, @lynncoyle1.

I used to do that kind of thing (jump in the car, chase something down) all of the time when I owned the newspapers, especially in the beginning, when I was more or less it. Sometimes it happened late at night or even early in the morning. We had a fire dispatch radio so we could listen in on the calls. You'd drop everything and go.

Haven't really done that much lately, though. Not much of a reason to, obviously.

I'm just glad I managed to get everything found and put together, because my iPhone wasn't going to produce the same quality of photos. One of these days I'll upgrade, because the images my older son can take with his newer iPhone are much better in comparison.

Of course, I hadn't thought about that. Did you like the feeling of doing it again though?

I got a new android phone earlier this year, and the photo quality always surprises me; all of my post photos are taken with the phone. I did have a nice old-school Nikon, zoom lens attachment, the whole deal, but sold it before moving here. Sometimes wish I hadn't, but really, I never used it anymore (pre-steemit) days. It's just easier to have a phone handy all the time instead of lugging that thing around "in case" I saw something that I wanted a photo of.

Yeah, which is one reason why I would upgrade my iPhone to the latest version. I'm sure when phone companies put cameras in, they put a huge dent in regular camera sales, just because of the convenience. Most of us aren't worrying about super great quality photos for our Facebook wall, even though it would be nice to have non-blurry photos of loved ones. :)

re: like the feeling

Well, I had a big grin on my face for about three minutes of this. Or at least it felt like I did. Our neighborhood is quiet enough as it is, but it's very quiet around 9 AM, after most have headed off to school or work. So, I pretty much had the streets to myself, except for a couple of people walking and a couple of cars that I came on at the other end of the street, conveniently where the balloon was landing.

I do actually miss that part. Going to a fire or an accident—you felt for the people, but there was an adrenaline rush to get the photos and to be as invisible as possible while doing it. Didn't always work out that way, but I tried.

There you are again. How do you always manage to beat me to the good c-square submissions?

hahaha just luck I guess :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90