You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: Adding "Value" to the Steem Blockchain - Chapter 1

in #life6 years ago

I think your conclusion is a good one, the idea of finding value, whatever that may be. I remember joking a few months in here with my husband, wondering what my hourly wage might actually be here haha.

I taught high school English mostly for years, and spent countless hours outside of the classroom working on things, reading, marking, talking to kids, their parents etc. I was good at what I did, and I enjoyed it very much. People used to say how much money I made, because they were dividing my salary by a 5 day work week, and subtracting all those holidays we teachers get. When I did the math, it was a much different story! :)

You've got it right here @roleerob, that I can see! :)

Sort:  

Good evening @lynncoyle1! Catching up some and reading through this, I really appreciate getting your perspective. I think our posts get "stronger" with the input of others.

Hats off to you as a teacher. Aside from our parents, when we are children, I do not know that any other person has as much of an influence on our lives as teachers. Sadly, in some cases, even more influence than a parent ...

I was blessed to have some great (with definitely a few "not so much" thrown in there ...) teachers at critical times growing up. As an example, I got to visit my 5th grade teacher, who had such a profound influence, on me, in my early 20s. Out of college and into my career, my travels gave me the opportunity.

Surprisingly, retired long before, the school still told me where she lived and said she'd love to see me. I was very doubtful she would even remember me, +15 years earlier, but of course she did! 😊

I imagine you were a similar sort of teacher, in your influence on your students @lynncoyle1.

Have a great evening!

Oh I love that story of you and your teacher @roleerob! We do remember the good ones 😎

I'm actually in touch with many of my former students on facebook (shhh!), and many are now becoming parents themselves. The years just keep on going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89