[Prompt] What was your first meal of the year?

in #life4 years ago

Mine was something crunchy with liquid....

From the last 4 days I have been carbing up, typical feasts during Christmas and New Year's eve, though I celebrated it alone this year. Beyond any doubt, I feel loaded, heavy and lethargic. Albeit, the other day I was planning to cut back on carbs but holiday festive vibe got the best of me. Then, before I went to sleep after the fireworks stopped blasting my ears, I told myself to cut back on carbohydrate, like I used to. 

This morning, I woke up with tenacious attempt to cut back the white rice and bread.  Yet still, the very first thing I had was liquid cereal sugar. I craved for smoothies, as these collections of healtholino recipe.  But I had no bananas nor any fruits available so, I went with liquid crunchy cereal breakfast. It was somehow enough to fill me up until lunch time. 

Lunch is another story. I went a bit brute with my choices. I loaded up my plate with stir fry vegetables, sauted mushroom and fishball soup. I felt my stomach slowly adjusting to its regular cycle. I had more energy and less sluggish, it's good anyway since I have a work due within 2 days. 

But.. I would also like to talk about my previous festive meal. I had a roll of Gimbab, korean dish look-alike sushi. It was served with tteok, Korean rice cake with BBQ sauce, half boiled egg and also kimchi. I would say, it was appetizing especially the sauce, which was a mixture of sweet and spicy flavor. The rice cake was another story, it was chewy and rather bland but when soaked in the sauce, it was divine. I really need to eat more and explore Korean Cuisine because they are distinctive and mouthwatering. 

The next meal I had the previous day was Indonesian styled noodle with fried wonton. There are calling this dish as Mie Gacoan, I am not sure what it means but probably it signifies different spiciness levels. I think the hottest is around 10. I tried level 3 and it burned my mouth.  This one below does not contain any chili flakes so it was a bit stale. But the chicken and the sweet sauces mixture on it gave it savory flavor. 

To this extent, if I continue eating those two thing, I'd gain more pounds than losing it. Besides those two things cost me a fortune for my current budget. I am now glad to be back to saner state and eating healthy but still affordable.

Now, What was your first meal of the year?

Let me know in the comment section or a post !




Sort:  

It was an avocado sub from Jimmy John's.

Actually did Dim Sum with my family this morning. The first meal of 2020.

Cool ! I love Dim sum :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87