Why I Went Vegan. My Vegan Journey [Part 2]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In this post I would like to finish the story about "Why I Went Vegetarian Part 1" my previous post. I just want to make a note that my vegan journey was nothing extraordinary, but I want to be transparent and share my experience about something that changed my life and I’m sure a large amount of people who are vegan can resonate with that.

(READ FIRST IF YOU HAVEN'T) https://steemit.com/life/@madisonranschau/why-i-went-vegetarian-the-beginning-my-vegan-journey-part-1

It was about two and a half years ago when I made the transition to go from vegetarian to vegan. One day I remember someone on YouTube I watched often saying some about 'how dairy industry is just as bad as the meat industry'. At this point in time of being vegetarian for a year I was plenty aware of the cruelty of the meat industry from exposing myself to more informative content on the graphic side of things. I was becoming more connected to the idea of being a more ethical vegetarian then a environmental vegetarian. I did still care about the environmental aspects of vegetarianism, but as I educated myself more I found numerous reasons why it is so important to adopt this lifestyle for moral reasons as well.


Image Source: http://www.cowspiracy.com

I originally started because of Environmental Reasons...


Image Source: https://www.thunderclap.it/projects/41647-take-the-earthlings-challenge

and became to understand the Ethical Reasons.

Becoming so passionate about saving the animals I found myself thinking what more can I do? I looked into the diary industry first and was horrified to what I had found. I was astonished with the idea that we humans are exploiting another species for their breast milk, this concept alone was so eye opening. I never truly thought of it that way and it was disturbing once realized. I always thought dairy cows just naturally produced milk, but soon enough I learned there is absolutely nothing natural about it. The cow is artificially inseminated, gives birth, their baby is stolen from them, than they are pump full of hormones, and milked for every last drop. This is repeated till she is seen as not profitable enough because her production declined and is sent to slaughter. All so we humans can have her milk.

IMG_7487.jpg.jpg
Image Source: cynical_coyote on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/p/BcIOu0gAYqP/


Image Source: https://freefromharm.org/dairyfacts/

I began looking more into veganism and started learning additional information on what happens else where to the creatures who can’t speak on their own behalf. Chickens in the egg industry, animals used for entertainment, animals used for clothing, and so on. I was overwhelmed with information and emotion. Frustrated that I ever unknowingly supported any of this cruelty, but also the fact that people still are. I decided to go vegan and continue to educate myself on these topics. It has been two and a half years now and I am still learning and gaining more knowledge everyday. Veganism has became more then just a diet to me over these past years, it has become one of my biggest passions. I hope someday my voice can be heard by more people for the sake of all beings that don’t have a voice. For now I plan to get there by speaking my thoughts on the matter. Eventually I aspire to influence others to make the change of being more compassionate to all, human and non-human.

Thank you to who ever took the time to read this post and I look forward to continuing the flow in return.

Remember to be kind.

For anyone who can relate leave a comment below about how you found veganism or your steps to make the change, I’d love to know!

Sort:  

Congratulations @madisonranschau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I guess I owe veganism to my sister, I remember she switched the moment she saw baby chickens being moved around with a giant air hose, like they would just blow them around like leaves on a lawn. Eventually I took notice too and tried veganism.

To me a big obstacle for veganism is the near brain dead fitness industry who can't for the life of themselves understand how protein works. The concept of a "complete" protein is just completely lost on people. For the most part people lack diversity in their diet and stick to what, like 3 or 4 different vegetables sprinkled in with a bunch of unhealthy food?

I've for the last several years have been fairly decent at being consistent with working out. What I found with veganism is that I'm stronger than I ever have been, and I can become extremely lazy and then jump back in to working out and then still somehow manage to break personal records. Veganism appears to slow the rate of entropy for muscle growth in me.

When I used to fill my body with protein powder and chicken breast and cheese and ice cream, it just completely sapped me of my energy without me even being aware. I was also never content with my body fat ratio because I didn't seem to have total control over it.

Veganism to me is easy as hell, in fact I think the lifestyle of eating meat is hard mode. In the grocery store when walking anywhere near the meat section is just smells completely repulsive, and the kids working those stations all appear to be in terrible health with acne, they're exposed to cleaning agents every shift they work that also stink. . . it's just so disgusting. . . and ridiculously expensive on top of that.

I'm not the most strict vegan myself, I will still happily eat raw honey from local beekeepers and eggs from real free-run farm chickens that are treated as family pets, but I'm not overly focused on the label of vegan.

You will be successful on Steemit, I completely and absolutely believe that. I think it's smart to be passionate about veganism, you have an endless list of clients on planet Earth that need to be woken up. Your message is beautiful, and it'll spread like fire and eventually touch everyone. I'm honoured to be one of your early Followers, great blog post!

Thank you so much for the comment, I found it very interesting. Kudos to you and your sister for making the change! it is defiantly making a difference for the planet, animals, and also your health.

Haha I still find it mind boggling that people still have this stigma towards protein, its all in the plants people! no need for flesh

I agree, veganism is super easy if you do it for the right reasons and I know that repulsive smell you talk of in the grocery store, never noticed it when I wasn't vegan but all of a sudden I can't help be cover my nose!

I feel people do see veganism as a such a restrictive diet and are turned off by it, but its all about taking small steps and elimate things along the way.

Thank you so much, you don't know how uplifting it is to have someone say something so nice. it gives me the motivation to keep going, I appreciate it a lot! Thanks again for your inspiring comment and the follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73