The feeling of a earthquake (Italy)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

(my grandparents came back after a year to see the fragments of their house)

Hi Steemit, 

again, my region in Italy as been touch by a earthquake. I’don’t live here anymore, but I remember very well how it feels like when the earth start to shake and your parents and familiy wake up to go outside and wait for everything to stop.   Lucky me we were young, so as soon we felt the shake we just wake up and run as fast as possible. But for my grandparents, taunt and oncle wasn't that easy.   

But the worst part is to see all your neighborhood run everywhere, scream and cry, searching for some family members, friends, even pets and find nothing. And feel all the others earthquake for 2-3-4 more days.   

(view for my oncle house)

Everything looks like a dream, but as soon the sun start to rise, you realize that you have been lucky, that a lot of houses are not there anymore, that the church who ring the bell each hour is not there anymore, that the little grocery store near the mail office is only a pile of dust and rocks.  

And after all this you realize that some people are under the fragments and some people have nothing anymore, they cries, all their life disappear in a moment   It was in 2009 in Abruzzo, near Aquila, I will always remember that day, especially that after a couple of years everything was still a mess.

 I am in Canada now, but the news of another earthquake in Italy, almost at the same place 7 years before, make me sad and I hope my family, all my friends and all the citizens are fine.  

Sort:  

Thanks for the first hand account of experiencing an earthquake. I personally have never felt one, and part of me would like to, out of curiosity and for the excitement. But on the other hand, the destruction these quakes being is nothing to celebrate. I hope too that your friends and family back in Italy are safe.

To be honest, the first shake was almost cool, the bed shake, the sound, the adrenaline kick in and instinctively you just wake up and run. At first, you don't really realize what happened. It's feels like a railway cross your house. But after is not that fun, when you see the distress and you feel the other shakes. You start to not really feel safe anymore and every shake (almost 6 to 7 each day) it's feels like been bombing by something, so you don't sleep well anymore and I was ( as a kid) pretty scare.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56