Getting The Right Support - BPD Part 3

in #life6 years ago

download.jfif
Based on my experience so far it seems my psych doctors haven't been entirely focused on getting their diagnoses right. They have been placing the quick go-to "depressive and anxiety disorder" diagnoses on me. They're not wrong, but they're not done, either. The previous clinic I went to focused most on treating symptoms, which I can fully understand the purpose and benefit of- but even that has its own major drawbacks. I wonder so much at this point if I would be doing better if I have had went somewhere that focused on placing me in a smaller box and going from there, instead of throwing me in a variated lot to begin with. I am sure this works better for some people but I don't think it has been working for me. We all need care tailored to our own needs; it's not one size fits all.

I have since moved onto a different clinic. It feels different there, a lot more comfortable and overall it's a happier place. I still don't feel as though I am being sorted anywhere specific, but I also just finished my first therapy session (important to note I have been seeing my prescriber there for a year now). My concern with the labels here is only to make sure we aren't missing something; that there isn't a major problem overseen or being disguised as something else. Simplistic and traditional treatments aren't really working for me, so we know there is more going on- it is clear if you consider my symptoms and lack of full response.

I think I have a good support team. This therapist seems like she'll be a good fit for me, and I absolutely adore my prescriber.

Onto the point of my post: I can't express enough how important it is to find the right doctors when you have a chronic medical problem. I have had some terrible doctors. I left appointments feeling worse than I did going in. I wanted to give up on managing my illness, and give up on everything else, too. This is not okay, and if you feel like this, please seek out a new doctor or support system. Once you find the right doctor, managing your illness will become easier, and the thought of recovery will finally seem possible. Best of luck to those of you who struggle. You're never alone in this, and you never should feel you are.
you-are-not-alone-1.png

Sort:  

Im so glad you didnt give up either. So awesome you are feeling better with the new therapist. I totally agree with you on finding the right clinic, too bad it doesnt happen faster.

Thank you. The trial and error sure can be frustrating.

I'm so glad to hear you found a clinic that you have positive feelings about - getting started on the right foot :)

Yes! I really hope I can finally get back on my feet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72