Is faith in humanity lost? - reflection

in #life5 years ago

Is faith in humanity lost?

Welcome to this new post, who writes very humbly, @marckospc.

For this occasion I bring a questioning that I have done many times, and it is that it is worth having faith in the goodwill of people today.

I refer to so many bad things that happen every day in the world, and that are caused by people who do not do evil, or who lie and manipulate for their own benefit, is it possible that there can still be good people really? Well, I still do not have a clear answer to that question, but I want to tell you an event that I had to live.

swindler
Link

To give them a context, in my country for example, in the streets you have to be always alert, because it is very common to get with criminals who try to strip us of our belongings or threaten our peace and security, or it could be some scammer who tries to sell you something that very probably does not work or that can also be a distraction and then rob us.

In this case, I will focus on those people who roam the streets of any city, selling some candy or asking for money on buses; I know very well that this is not strange, that very probably in your country, that also happens, and I do not mean to say that, that is wrong, but many scammers, over the years, have used this strategy to commit a crime or swindling people, such as those who preach a religion and get on the bus asking for money for a child with a serious illness showing photos as evidence, to move passengers in order to get money; I want to make an emphasis in this specific case.

As I mentioned, these people who do this activity ask for money for a sick person or some need, they are usually swindlers, and with the passage of time, people have come to know them and know very well that what they ask is for a certain vice, so that very few people help, I include myself in this, because whenever I see someone get on the bus where I go with these intentions, I immediately think that he is a scammer and I do not give them anything.
Now, I tell you what happened to me:

Once when I was on a bus to my house, a humble but good lexicon, who judged by his appearance came from his work, because he looked a little tired, also his clothes were somewhat deteriorated and dirty. This man, raises his voice and asks all passengers to pay attention, at that time he begins to say textually:

swindler
Link

"Good afternoon, gentlemen passengers, maybe my presence in this bus will cause you some discomfort, but I would like you to please listen to me carefully, I want to request a help with some money that you can give me, if it is within your reach, because I have my daughter 6 years very serious in the hospital, and I have money to buy some medicines that he sent for his treatment. "

At that time I thought and said, this man is another of those scammers who invents some sick relative to get money from people.

He continued saying: "As you will see, I do not have the resources, and as soon as I left work they called me to go to the hospital and the doctor gave me the medication list, and I did nothing but cry. And that's why I've been asking for help on every bus I see, to try to solve the problem. Please, to those who can or want to collaborate with me, I will be grateful to them all my life "

Then I pass little by little for each seat, and surprisingly many people gave him money. After he got off and we were able to continue with our lives normally, but I was skeptical, I still thought that what he was saying was not true at all, and that up to that point some people are able to come to ask and not work.

It took more than a week, when I returned to the city, and on another bus to come home, the same gentleman got back on; At that moment I began to think and I said to myself: again this man without shame. But then, this gentleman, little by little made me swallow my thoughts, because this time, he looked very different, and came with a very pretty girl.
There he again asked for the attention of the passengers, but this time saying:

"Good evening have all the passengers, maybe none of you remembers me, I do not come to ask for money, I just want to thank those who saw me asking for money on this or any bus that I got on, for the help they gave me at that moment; my daughter improved and now she is healthy, and thanks to the goodness of all of you "
Crying in a very emotional way, he introduces his daughter and says goodbye very kindly: "God bless you and have an excellent afternoon"

swindler
Link

I could not avoid a lump in my throat and a tear coming out. In that moment, many things happened through my mind. It is quite complicated to express what I felt that day, that if I had not lived it, I would never believe that there are still honest people in this world.

Anyway, I do not remember the name of the man or the girl, nor do I know where they were from; maybe for this time the girl is already a young lady of 15 or 16 years and maybe they do not even remember that. But for me it was a very nice gesture of a human being that proves to be an honest person.

That fact made me totally change my perspective on humanity; It is not that I am already convinced that we can all be good people, but it made me think that maybe there are not many, but there are those who can be honest and with a good heart. I know there are few who think like that, but those few people are what this world needs.

Well friends, that has been everything. This time I extended a lot but I thank you that you have reached this point, and I would like to know your opinion about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84