When Life Gives You Wine, Drink It

in #life7 years ago

I have been really busy lately with regards to work (I translate) and I've found myself really missing the basic things I don't currently have time for. One of these things are to just enjoy a nice glass of wine. I don't even enjoy a quick one at night anymore as I'm a bit behind schedule and work the whole day until about 1 am. I'm giving myself a little break now by making this post.

Zeven Huis-2.jpg The old farmhouse. It's the restaurant now. Photo cred to @dirkodie

I live in the far northern suburbs of Cape Town in Kuilsrivier and one of the perks of living here is that we are right next to the start of the Cape Winelands region. One of the wine farms, Zevenwacht Wine Estate, is actually situated inside our little town- a 5 min drive from home. Often when I'm bored, I find whoever is equally up for an "adventure" and we head up to the farm.

18834541_10209918823384293_504272327_n.jpgADVENTUUUURE!!!! I just had to take a swing at the farm's kiddie area (photo cred: @dirkodie)

My main reason usually for going there is to buy a bottle of their Tin Mine Red. It is one of their cheaper bottles, going for about 80 ZAR and is a red blend of Shiraz, Grenache & Mourvedre. For their cheaper wine, this is really just a smooth and easy drinking wine. The awesome thing about Zevenwacht (and most farms in the winelands) is that if you buy a bottle of wine at the end of your wine tasting, your tasting is free. Therefore even though my aim from the start was just to buy the bottle, I occasionally enjoy my free wine tasting- because who wouldn't want free wine?

IMG_20160806_174749.jpg

A shitty photo I took of said wine while enjoying it, for the sole purpose of sending it to some friends in the tone of "sigh, life sucks" - when it's clearly at that moment better than theirs. A bit of "light" bragging.

IMG_20150713_131940.jpg

Doing a cheese and wine pairing tasting by the fireplace all toasty. I don't think making this post is quite good for my soul as I'm wanting to say "screw work" and go for a tasting now, as well as being sad that I can't.

20472107_10209918809783953_709057105_n.jpg
Me, taking a walk to the dam.

IMG_20160925_154314.jpg

Also not the best photo at all, but if you make the effort of driving to the top of the hill you get to enjoy panoramic views stretching from the hills of the Cape Winelands, to the Helderberg region, to Table Mountain, to the northern suburbs, as well as the Atlantic seaboard.

For those of you that can have a drink now, please note that I'm jealous, but I do hope you enjoy it. Have one on me. Back to work I go :)

Sort:  

I agree with you @maretha94

It's cool to take some time off and enjoy yourself a little bit.

Nice post but stop lying about being busy with work. I can see everything.

Some nice pics and an equally nice post. Why haven't you invited me to go with you on an adventure yet? Disappointed much.

I agree nice post, and I'll definitely join you on that adventure!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maretha94 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

beautiful blog and i upvoted and followed you
you can also follow me if you want

@maretha94 - I hope you get to enjoy your glass of nice wine soon. Your blog created a great mental picture of drinking wine in picturesque surroundings. I am not fortunate enough to stay right next door to wine country but I will manage to drink wine there some day. Upvoted

oh lovely post dear

wine is always a good idea! Love the way you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71138.51
ETH 3842.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48