-Ski Helmet (Painting Process)-

in #life6 years ago

#57

Practice.jpg

...

Hey guys, another one for today ... painting some sort of a ski helmet(I might be wrong), here's the step by step.

I start with the darkest areas or contours to establish the base and then just fill in the shading. This way it's easier to quickly get the proportions and basic shading in. Painting is more about abstracting what you see and I found this to be the best method for me to see shapes and forms and indicate them easily.

Props are a bit easier for me to paint/draw than characters, you don't have that pressure of keeping things in line with what the avg person might find wrong or misplaced, unless you really screw the perspective and proportions. It's a product of commercial design and can vary in many different ways.

I keep it simple in the first stages, pretty much just indication of shapes and then fixing those gradually. It's very spherical, that helmet, so had to deal with subtle variation were the light meets the shadow. Worked on that very lightly until I got it looking somewhat accurate. I usually don't use the opacity option for photoshop brushes, just flow and a very light touch, it gets the job done quicker if you can control the brush. It just takes practice to get reasonably comfortable with the pen and tablet.

Took me several tries to get the curvy lines correct ... tablets are not very accurate as you may know. It looked kinda dull without a background so I decided to add some. Add a dark background for the lighter side of the "object" and vice versa, so that it pops. Looks better and adds to the shading and the overall feeling of volume. Had fun with this one.

Suggestions for my future posts are very welcome ... and thank you for your votes and resteems guys :)

Daily Art & Design

...

Sort:  

I feel like you have a lot of potential to write and post quality content and it would be a shame to make it in vain. Follow me and i will follow u back in order to get more popular and fore more people to view our posts! thanks! Anyone who sees this can do the same, i refollow anyone. We're small but we can grow together!

thanks and followed

This is excellent! (Followed.)

That fact you've been posting realistic stuff every day is impressive.
(The last image here is great.)

I'm organizing 3-4 people together for a manga or light novel illustration project on steemit; would you be interested in participating?

(In other posts I see you drew scenes with difficult motion, landscape, buildings, exactly what's needed. The types of stories our team would be illustrating would be something like this story. Even unfinished, longer science fiction stories are quite successful here. Will you be interested if we organize things like ADSactly?)

thank you ... I'm busy with work right now, but I'll think about ... :)

No rush. If you want to join the project later, no problem :D
It'll take at least a month or two for everything to get organized.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66