Are You Ashamed Of Your Past Self?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When looking back at old Facebook posts or videos of yourself, are you ashamed or proud?

As always, watch the 1 minute video, or read on below, or even better, do both! :)


The Past Is Over
As my teacher Dr. Richard Bandler always says: The best thing about the past is that it is over. So people allow what has happened in the past to dictate how the act and feel in the present. This is understandable because of the way we have been taught about human psychology, yet in reality it is bananas! You see, the past is not the reality, it is (at least for now) unchangeable, and does not influence your current situation at all, despite what you may have been led to believe. Therefore, it is okay to think about the past now and then, as long as you don't live there.

We All Want To Learn
So most of the people here on Steemit will agree: learning, developing and investing in yourself is very important. Yet what we sometimes forget is that, if we actually become 'better' at something, 'wiser', 'smarter' or 'more true to ourselves', that this can actually have resulted in a massive change in thinking, personality and behaviour. Therefore when we look back at ourselves a few months ago, let alone a few years, we can see incredible progress when looking forward, or scare the crap out of ourselves by looking back. OMG was this me?

Be Proud
Let's be honest here, the more stupid you feel about looking back at your former self, the better off you are. It simply means that you have learned, changed, developed, grown. All the goals you set for yourself in personal development have been reached or at least completed to great extend. It is when you look back and don't notice any change between the 'you' today and the 'you 5 years ago', that you should start to feel a little worried ;)

Video Transcript:
Do you ever scroll back on your Facebook wall like two or three years ago and you read the stuff that you posted and go like: Oh My God, why did I say that stuff. Or maybe you've been watching back some home videos that you made five or ten years ago and you think I was so horrendous back then. Well if that's the case be happy! For two reasons! First of all the past is over, it is in the past, it doesn't exist anymore. You are a different person right now. Second it means that you've actually developed a lot. You've learned a lot which means that by now you think of that older version of yourself as somebody who is being retarded. Now if you read back your facebook posts, three or five years ago, and you think mmm that actually makes a lot of sense. Then either you were really really smart back then, or you simply didn't learn anything in the past years.

Sort:  

You got a 75.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers! Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTES and RESTEEMS service.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

I love this offer will use it wen am read..thanks

Nice ..
You are absolutely right .. wonderful words from you, well done
Thanks for sharing this with us

Thanks @slimanepro so nice to have you reading all my posts :)

The past is is unchangeable, and if you can't change something, you shouldn't worry about it I completely agree. Sometimes I cringe of the silly things I've said or done in the past. Generally when I'm in the shower I think about it and scrub my hair or face really hard with soap, lol. But yes when you look at your past and say OMG, it is because you have grown. Great write up. Cheers.

Thanks @jfitmisc yeah you're right! We cannot change it. So just learn from it, and think back with a smile :)

Also, don't rub your face to hard with soap man, what if it comes off? :P

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

smartsteem payout in the amount of $37 USD.
buildawhale payout in the amount of $31 USD.
upmyvote payout in the amount of $31 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $29 USD.
postpromoter payout in the amount of $21 USD.
boomerang payout in the amount of $20 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $19 USD.
emperorofnaps payout in the amount of $8 USD.
booster payout in the amount of $8 USD.
ebargains payout in the amount of $7 USD.
inciter payout in the amount of $1 USD.
aksdwi payout in the amount of $1 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $213 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @markdeheide and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Thank you @transparencybot :) yes I use upvotebots to promote my work because I think it is of value, I hope you agree. Much rather promote content here than on facebook bleh...

I'm not ashamed of my past but it could have been better.
And if I get a chance I little bit of it.😈

Haha yeah! :)

Where's the rest of it?

There is no rest, I do 1 minute videos daily, and write the blogs on Steemit. They're all very short :)

I thought something was up with my browser and it lost the point. Well, i read somewhere that due to humanist educational approaches in public schools, television and social media, attention spans under a minute .. maybe you'd be better making them 30 seconds

Yeah, or people can pause it halfway through :)

rofl - touche! Now I know what that button is for. I read the video transcript now and - in three words, ignorance is bliss. If you're concerned, (another 3 words) you've grown up.

It is interesting - when I started using Facebook I was already grown up. And when I stopped using it, I had no regrets about what I posted. I only regretted spending time getting to know to much about people I would have been better off, knowing less about ;-)
Game on, bro ;-)

Hola @markdeheide
El pasado es algo que ocurrió en un período anterior al presente.
No necesariamente lo mejor es que se haya acabado. Creo que pueden haber pasados mejores y peores a lo que una persona puede estar viviendo hoy. Ciertamente el pasado ya no es una realidad; más si lo fue y debemos aceptarlo. No podemos vivir del ayer, no podemos vivir de lo que fuímos e hicimos; tenemos que vivir del presente y para el futuro. El presente será el pasado y el futuro seguirá siendo futuro hasta que sea presente. Así pues que preocupemonos por el hoy, las acciones y las decisiones que tomamos para influir en el futuro.
¿Todos queremos aprender?
Claro que sí. De hecho después de muchos años y hasta hace 42 días dejé de hacer algo que de verdad me gusta, me atrae, me satisface, me motiva y creo que me hará crecer. Ese algo es pasar a formar parte de la Gran Familia Stiminiana; en la cual puedo humildemente aportar pepitas de oro para el crecimiento personal y económico de muchos amigos reales.
Cuando ingrese a Steemit no tenía ni idea de como iba a ser mi participación en esta Red, si iba a tener paciencia, motivación, tiempo, creatividad, si aportaría valor agregado con mis votaciones, artículos, comentarios y respuestas. Creo que todavía me falta mucha carretera para sentirme satisfecho con mi participación pero voy para allá.
Quiero desarrollarme, hacer cada día más productivo mi trabajo, hacer mejores post, mejores comentarios , etc..... de forma tal, que dentro de un tiempo que no quiero apurar pero tampoco lo deseo tan lejano pueda hacerme esa pregunta que tu colocas........... ¿Dios mío era este yo?
Me siento orgulloso de que cada día me desemvuelvo mucho mejor en la Red. Quiero decir con esto que he aprovechado el aprendizaje y mi paso por Steemit, me he desarrollado y he crecido.
Miro hacía el pasado y no me preocupo por lo que hice bien o mal o por lo que dejéde hacer. Simplemente, me siento bien con lo que estoy haciendo y eso es Trabajando contigo y con todos los integrantes de Steemit.
¿FaceBook? No amigo... Ahí si perdí horas sentado dándole LIKE a artículos de amistades que ni conozco y enterándome de cosas que realmente ni me interesan. Al FaceBook le dije Chao.
Saludos y hasta la vista.
Gracias

Man thanks for such a long comment, yet I don't speak any Spanish, can you please comment in English in the future :)

Sorry
Excuse my english

Hello @markdeheide
The past is something that happened in a period before the present.
Not necessarily the best thing is that it's over. I believe that there may be better and worse past to what a person may be living today. Certainly the past is no longer a reality; more if it was and we must accept it. We can not live from yesterday, we can not live from what we were and did; we have to live from the present and for the future. The present will be the past and the future will remain future until it is present. So let's worry about today, the actions and decisions we make to influence the future.
Do we all want to learn?
Of course. In fact after many years and until 42 days ago I stopped doing something that I really like, it attracts me, it satisfies me, it motivates me and I think it will make me grow. That something is to become part of the Great Stiminiana Family; in which I can humbly contribute gold nuggets for the personal and economic growth of many real friends.
When I joined Steemit I had no idea how my participation in this Network would be, if I was going to have patience, motivation, time, creativity, if it would add value with my votes, articles, comments and answers. I think I still need a lot of road to feel satisfied with my participation but I'm going there.
I want to develop myself, make my work more productive every day, make better posts, better comments, etc ... so that, within a time that I do not want to hurry but I do not want it so far, I can ask myself that question that you put ........... God was this me?
I am proud that every day I spend much better on the Net. I mean with this that I have taken advantage of the learning and my time in Steemit, I have developed and grown.
I look at the past and I do not worry about what I did right or wrong or what I did not do. I just feel good about what I'm doing and that's Working with you and all the members of Steemit.
Facebook? No friend ... There I lost hours sitting giving LIKE to articles of friendships that I do not know and getting to know things that really do not interest me. I told FaceBook, Chao.
Greetings and see you.
Thank you

Hey @reinaldor, thanks for taking the time to translate and such a good story :) Really happy to have you posting on my posts. I'm currently still on facebook but hardly using it to be honest.

You got a 4.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @markdeheide!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Interesting topic.... I remember reading some posts from 10, 12 years ago.... Some serious face palm moments. Couldn't believe those were me. Most surprising and annoying part was the shorthand.... (C U, instead of see you).... Anyway, that enabled me to understand teens/young adults more, and I do cut them some slack! Lol

Haha yes! :) Well @solcross that just means you've evolved a lot and have become a different person which is good :) that's what life is all about, and if it even helps you to understand younger people today that's bonus! :)

Indeed mate, indeed

You are absolutely right, I often look back and think, well that was stupid, I sure progressed since then....only problem is that was last nights post... :)
Voted and followed.

haha well then you're progressing quick :)

Yes apparently! Either that or just stupid, LOL.

Ey, as long as you can laugh about it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78